Hungarian Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
DELICIOUS! Pork chops were very juicy and the sauce was SPECTACULAR! I think I will be trying the sauce on other items as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sage12177

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe. The cream is rich, thick and flavorful. It would be great paired with some white wine. The one-hour cook time is too long. The thick, bone-in pork chops were a little overdone after 50 minutes. I think 35-40 minutes would have been right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I served this last night for dinner. It was fabulous. The only change I made was, I didn't have any ketchup in the house, so I used barbeque sauce. My daughter-in-law is from a small town in Hungary, I asked her if this was close to real Hungarian food. She said pretty close. The only thing she would add to it is a little bit of garlic. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Substituted white wine for the sherry and salted to taste. After browning both sides of the meat, I simmered for 20 minutes with the sauce. The meat was moist and the sauce was flavorful. Family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
The sauce turned out very bitter and very thick. My step-daughter wouldn't even eat it! I was quite disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This was a tasty recipe. I served the pork chops over rice with green beans and blistered cherry tomatoes on the side. I used the full amount of ketchup and found it to be OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This is a delicious way to prepare chops.I used the advise of others and use half the ketchup. I also made a few other alterations. I add 1/4 cup more sour cream,a few more dashes of worcestershire, 1 Tbls of paprika,1 tsp of minced garlic and 1/4 tsp of onion powder,also I garnished with fresh chives. This recipe is a winner in our home. It was requested again already. I will try this recipe with chicken thighs next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
We did not like the flavors in this. Maybe because I used cooking sherry instead of dry sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This turned out great! It was a hit at my house. Doubled up the paprika because i used sweet paprika...also mixed ketchup with fresh tomatoe sauce. I used fresh cream instead of sour cream which is difficult to find in Mexico. All in all it was a grand hit. I served them over spaetzle (german noodles).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Acapulco Tanja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Acapulco, Guerrero, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Good, the family liked it, but I was a little annoyed that the breading didn't stick well after the simmering of the sauce. I also did not cook for an hour, in fact my sauce started to dry out/thicken too much so I add some extra water. I will probably make it again, but maybe not with the breading as it seemed to be a waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States