Hungarian Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Yummy! I used THICK (1 1/2") chops and would recommend chops no more than 3/4" so the flavor permeates. I didn't have sherry so I used white wine. I also added extra Worcestershire and paprika (used sweet Hungarian) and next time will add a little hot or possibly smoked paprika for a little more zip. My husband and daughter don't even like sour cream so the fact that they liked it is very telling! I served it with home made spaetzle. The smell while cooking is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpine, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by slatez
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
These had great flavor! The only thing I changed was to use tomato sauce instead of ketchup (personal preference) and of course I used Hungarian paprika. I didn't measure anything, just approximated and the flavors were still well balanced. I didn't need to cook this for an hour, it only took about 30-40 minutes. Served over egg noodles. Mmmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Delicious! Very easy to make and smelled wonderful while cooking. We ate it with wild rice and broccoli. My husband enjoyed as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I didn't have any sherry, so I omitted it from the recipe, but followed everything else. The pork chops were the most tender I've ever had and extremely tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siracusa, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Love 'em, love 'em - a real family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I used reduced fat sour cream when I made these. They turned out great. They were creamy and delicious and the chops were soooo tender! The sauce started out thin but thickened up while cooking and was great over some rice. We did not have any leftovers from this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Really good! Loved it with egg noodles. Made my kitchen smell yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sberrystephcake

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Wonderful, Quick and Easy. I did a couple changes based on what I had in stock. I doubled the sauce and used a whole can of tomato sauce instead of the ketchup. I skipped the paprika cause I had none and I used red wine. I also seasoned the flour with salt and pepper and italian spices before I dragged the meat through it. Really good, my whole family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I fixed this for supper tonight. Really tasty. I think next time I would add a real small can of tomato sauce and cut the ketchup back to 2T. I didn't taste ketcupy but it did have too much sweetness for my liking. I also added 1/4t. onion powder and 1/4t. garlic powder. I would definately fix this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I subbed 2 % Greek yogurt for the sour cream, white wine for the sherry, sherry for the Worcestershire sauce (i'm out and the roads are ice) and rice flour for all purpose flour to make it GF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Morristown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States