Hungarian Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
These were not good. They tasted like ketchup pork chops. I might use this concept to make a sauce with no ketchup and at least a tablespoon of paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
it was too sweet for us and that was even with cutting back on the ketchup. Also, I'm not sure why the person is calling this Hungarian Pork chops. my In-Laws are Hungarian--like born and raised there--and mother-in-law never made anything like this. Went to several different relatives places for meals and pork was rarely served....maybe this is a 'newer' dish in Hungary. Also, that is not much paprika for a Hungarian dish. I'd say this is more of a Russian dish (or Ukraine etc). JMO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
The sauce and chops tasted too much like sour cream not enough spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I thought the sauce was fantastic...of course i overcooked the pork chops :) but I will make this again. Recipe is great just the way it is...no adjustments from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I sauteed some sliced onions and some fresh minced garlic in a few tablespoons of butter before adding the flour. I also used white wine instead of sherry--I made no other changes. I served this with buttered egg noodles and roasted broccoli. The family liked it, it was a quick and interesting new way to make pork chops. It kind of reminded me of the beginnings of stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Ho my gosh. I substituted greek yogurt for the sour cream, went easy on the ketchup, and added a bunch of Tabasco to the sauce... and wow. This is my new favorite way to eat pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Just made these. I could drink the sauce!! DH declared them "GOOD PORK CHOP,*grunt*". High accolade from him! Didnt bread and fry chops just pan seared and added plain greek yogurt instead of sour cream at end of cooking. Served mine with green salad and oven roasted rosemary sweet potatoes. Will make again!Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doggymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Monterey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Delicious! I was only cooking for 2, but I didn't decrease the sauce ingredients. Should have, though, or should have served with rice or pasta. I forgot the bay leaf, but that didn't seem to make any difference. Will definitely go into my rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Very tasty! I added a T of cornstarch mixed w water to thicken at the end. I used bone in chops to avoid getting dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States