Hungarian Noodle Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
This was great. I didn't make it in a crock pot, though. I made it as an entree by adding 1 can mushrooms, and 2 shredded chicken breasts. I used Healthy Harvest whole wheat egg noodles, which I slightly undercooked. Instead of chicken bullion (which I was out of), I used beef bullion. I also added 2 tsps of dill and instead of the hot sauce, I used 2 tsps of hot paprika. I sauted the onions and mushrooms, then heated the ingredients through and put it in a cassarole dish. I baked it for 25 minutes at 350. It came out great! Next time I am going to replace the water with either sherry or marsala (not the cooking kind, blech!). My husband loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
This is a FANTASTIC side dish! Great with grilled pork tenderloin, hamburgers, steak! I baked this at 325-degrees in a 3-quart lightly greased casserole for 60 minutes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I found this noodle dish to bland and, when cooked in the crockpost as suggested, to be a large gummy blob. Even the kids wouldn't touch it. I was very upset at the time and expense for something totally inedible. I made it for an event and it was the only item that was almost totally uneaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixi M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Excellent meatless noodle dish!!!! Next time i'm going to add mushrooms. It has a wonderful creamy texture and a good flavor. I cooked it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes until it was hot and bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Great, creamy side dish. I used light sour cream and 1% cottage cheese. I did cut the recipe in half, so I cooked on high for 2 hours and low for 30-40 minutes. Had a few crispy noodles around the edges, but the pasta wasn't mushy. Also instead of the can of soup I used Homemade Cream-Style Soup Mix from this site. This would be a great recipe for a dinner party when you don't want to worry about all your dishes at the last minute :) And I would definitely serve this one to guests. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Very tasty. I added chunks of chicken that I sauted with some red pepper. I didn't have poppy seeds so I used caraway seeds, they added a great underlying flavor. Next time I will make a half batch or freeze half because this was a TON of food. Almost wouldn't fit in my crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGNESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Followed the recipe to a T and it was wonderful. I did not find it in any way bland or dry. The flavors really complimented one another well. I think this dish would be good with some beef, pork, or even tuna added to it for a hearty main dish. Thanks for sharing an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I love this recipe - I add ground beef and pork and serve it as a meal - I put in the crock on low in the AM, and it is ready when I get home from work - about 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I add a can of mushrooms and garlic salt. Everybody loves this recipe (well everybody that likes mushrooms!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
According to my Hungarian husband, this dish is similar to mac and cheese here in America. Kids love it as a afterschool snack. When I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States