Hungarian Lecso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Should it still hurt me after all these years that there is that one unkind review that slams the authenticity of my grandmother's recipe? It shouldn't, but it does. I am glad that so many people enjoy it, though. And for the record, I visited my Hungarian Jewish cousins (direct from Budapest) a few months ago and they do almost the same recipe except for the potatoes. :) And yes, that's my submission. I have a new account now that I'm married. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayandkim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoopeston, Illinois, USA
Living In: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
this is easily put together with common ingredients and tastes great over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
This is a dish my mom used to make in Poland. She did not use the potatoes and used 3 colour pepper (yellow,, red and green) then served it warm with black rye bread and butter. I like this variation and so do my kids. Easy and fast to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This was FANTASTIC! A soup that eats like a meal. I got stuck with Idaho potatoes instead of new potatoes but they tasted good too. I didn't have any fresh garlic. I didn't cook it for very long so the vegetable were a little firm which made it seem like a meal. Ymmmy! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This was delicious! Great on a cold winter's night. We had it with salad and black bread and there were no leftovers. Even my 2 year old ate it. Will definitely keep this in my file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
A hearty and easy recipe. Try cajun flavored smoked sausage for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
A most excellent recipe for Snickerdoodles! The 1/2 & 1/2 with the fats still leaves the buttery taste, but allows the shortening (which has a higher melting point) to keep the cookie up longer in the oven. My wife prefers these with just sugar, I enjoy the cinnamon added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I don't know anything about Hungarian food... but I DO know about good food, and this was GOOD! My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcjj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
So easy to make & super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TruckTruckGoose
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Very easy; not bad in a pinch. I used 4 tbsp butter instead of 1. Sauteed potatoes and garlic for about 10 mins on medium high. I used angus beef smoked sausage as well. A little sweet for my taste, so I juiced it up with some hot sauce. But that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TruckTruckGoose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States