Hungarian Lecso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
The recipe might be very good, but unfortunately doesn't fit the name. Being a Hungarian, I've been born and raised on this food, and this recipe is more likely to be called paprika potatoes. Lecso never has any potatoes nor spaghetti sauce in it, you might stir in eggs or rice for additional thickness. Sadly a very altered recipe, far from original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
It is quite a good recipe. I have to protest though; it has absolutely NOTHING to do with the real Hungarian lecsó, which is a completely differnt dish. It has many variations in Hungary, but NONE with potatoe and garlic!!! ( I recommend a look into a Hungarian cook book!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kristiansund, More Og Romsdal, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
This is a dish my mom used to make in Poland. She did not use the potatoes and used 3 colour pepper (yellow,, red and green) then served it warm with black rye bread and butter. I like this variation and so do my kids. Easy and fast to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This was FANTASTIC! A soup that eats like a meal. I got stuck with Idaho potatoes instead of new potatoes but they tasted good too. I didn't have any fresh garlic. I didn't cook it for very long so the vegetable were a little firm which made it seem like a meal. Ymmmy! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This was delicious! Great on a cold winter's night. We had it with salad and black bread and there were no leftovers. Even my 2 year old ate it. Will definitely keep this in my file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
A hearty and easy recipe. Try cajun flavored smoked sausage for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Ever have the most perfect recipe come up when using the ingredient search? This is mine... Overall very good - it did need salt and pepper though and a little longer to cook to blend flavors and to soften the poatoes. Very hearty and healthy (used chicken sausage) on a cold evening! Thanks for sharing! Oh and PS for everyone who gave it bad reviews saying it's not authentic... the submitter never claims it's authentic - they say it's been "americanized" meaning adapted. I appreciate this interpretation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
The is-it-or-isn't-it-traditional-Lecso reviews didn't affect my taste buds, as I didn't have anything to compare this recipe too. (I had the ingredients on hand and wanted an easy crock meal for a chilly night.) I don't think my following changes would affect the integrity of the original recipe. I browned the smoked sausage in a little EVOO w/ the garlic, onion, and bell peppers, and then dumped everything in the crock pot for 8 hrs on low. I used about 2 c. of homemade spaghetti sauce and 1 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes w/ jalapenos for some extra kick. (Truth by told, I can't recall ever seeing stewed tomatoes packed in a mere 8 oz. can.) It was the perfect consistency for dragging hunks of french bread through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
despite the dialog regarding the authenticity of this recipe, it is a good, basic cold weather meal. It is easy and quick to prepare. My only change would be to use a more spicy pasta sauce or some red pepper flakes for a little 'kick' as the tomato taste is a little strong for my taste. Overall it is a keeper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Nice, hearty stew. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States