Hungarian Lecso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
This is a dish my mom used to make in Poland. She did not use the potatoes and used 3 colour pepper (yellow,, red and green) then served it warm with black rye bread and butter. I like this variation and so do my kids. Easy and fast to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This was FANTASTIC! A soup that eats like a meal. I got stuck with Idaho potatoes instead of new potatoes but they tasted good too. I didn't have any fresh garlic. I didn't cook it for very long so the vegetable were a little firm which made it seem like a meal. Ymmmy! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Nice, hearty stew. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This was delicious! Great on a cold winter's night. We had it with salad and black bread and there were no leftovers. Even my 2 year old ate it. Will definitely keep this in my file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
It is quite a good recipe. I have to protest though; it has absolutely NOTHING to do with the real Hungarian lecsó, which is a completely differnt dish. It has many variations in Hungary, but NONE with potatoe and garlic!!! ( I recommend a look into a Hungarian cook book!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kristiansund, More Og Romsdal, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
A hearty and easy recipe. Try cajun flavored smoked sausage for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
This was very good. Wonderful on a cold night. This recipe is very similar to all the other Hungarian Lesco recipes, with the exception of the jar spaghetti sauce. The other recipes refer to it as a condiment and served over rice and noodles whereby this is stew-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
The recipe might be very good, but unfortunately doesn't fit the name. Being a Hungarian, I've been born and raised on this food, and this recipe is more likely to be called paprika potatoes. Lecso never has any potatoes nor spaghetti sauce in it, you might stir in eggs or rice for additional thickness. Sadly a very altered recipe, far from original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
I tried this recipe mainly because I had all the ingredients on hand, but it was a bit of a disappointment. It never seemed to "come together" -- perhaps a longer cooking time or a slow bake in the oven would have improved it. It just tasted exactly like the individual ingredients that went into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
despite the dialog regarding the authenticity of this recipe, it is a good, basic cold weather meal. It is easy and quick to prepare. My only change would be to use a more spicy pasta sauce or some red pepper flakes for a little 'kick' as the tomato taste is a little strong for my taste. Overall it is a keeper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States