Hungarian Lecso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This was a very satisfying meal. It tastes great and is very healthy. My 19th month old even loved it! I used hungarian and chorizo sausages since that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
A most excellent recipe for Snickerdoodles! The 1/2 & 1/2 with the fats still leaves the buttery taste, but allows the shortening (which has a higher melting point) to keep the cookie up longer in the oven. My wife prefers these with just sugar, I enjoy the cinnamon added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
All that complaining about it being authentic didn't mean anything to us, we had nothing to compare it to. The bottom line is if you are looking for a recipe to use these ingredients in, this is the one. My son LOVED this and he is pretty picky. My husband said it was okay. He could take it or leave it. It was okay for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
This was very good, but didn't have enough sauce for us, so I simply used a 24oz can of spaghetti sauce and added 1/2 cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
despite the dialog regarding the authenticity of this recipe, it is a good, basic cold weather meal. It is easy and quick to prepare. My only change would be to use a more spicy pasta sauce or some red pepper flakes for a little 'kick' as the tomato taste is a little strong for my taste. Overall it is a keeper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
I tried this recipe mainly because I had all the ingredients on hand, but it was a bit of a disappointment. It never seemed to "come together" -- perhaps a longer cooking time or a slow bake in the oven would have improved it. It just tasted exactly like the individual ingredients that went into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
The recipe might be very good, but unfortunately doesn't fit the name. Being a Hungarian, I've been born and raised on this food, and this recipe is more likely to be called paprika potatoes. Lecso never has any potatoes nor spaghetti sauce in it, you might stir in eggs or rice for additional thickness. Sadly a very altered recipe, far from original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
This was very good. Wonderful on a cold night. This recipe is very similar to all the other Hungarian Lesco recipes, with the exception of the jar spaghetti sauce. The other recipes refer to it as a condiment and served over rice and noodles whereby this is stew-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
A hearty and easy recipe. Try cajun flavored smoked sausage for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
It is quite a good recipe. I have to protest though; it has absolutely NOTHING to do with the real Hungarian lecsó, which is a completely differnt dish. It has many variations in Hungary, but NONE with potatoe and garlic!!! ( I recommend a look into a Hungarian cook book!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kristiansund, More Og Romsdal, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States