Hungarian Goulash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Finally, a recipe for Hungarian goulash that IS Hungarian goulash. I see so many recipes that as good as they may be are NOT really goulash, This IS. Very easily adapted to your liking by adding more or less of something. But if you follow this exactly you will have authentic Hungarian Goulash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
This is a similar recipe to a favorite dish that my sister in law makes. I was recently given this recipe along with a pressure cooker. The main difference was that we use stew beef and instead of 10 hours in a crock pot (I love them too!) we used a pressure cooker at 15lbs for 30 minutes. The beef was really really tender and soooo good. There is a rule though, since i inherited this recipe. You have to drink a big ole' ugly glassfull of wine before you start. then you have to have another while you cook and spill a little in the mix. I love this over egg noodles. Note: to avoid the flour lumps that one reviewer was complaining about, you have to mix water and flour and then pour that into the goulash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I used ground beef instead of what the recipe calls for (its what I had on hand) and added the egg noodles into the crock pot when it had about 30 minutes left and added about another 1/2 cup of water. It was fantastic! There were NO leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Howard Cloud

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was very good, but I felt it needed some more flavor. I added fresh minced garlic, red pepper flakes, ground black pepper and fresh mushrooms. And, next time I will use half the salt and will brown the meat prior to putting in the slow cooker. Will make again and again with the additions. Thank You Rhonda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
This is a simple and average meal that has comfort food written all over it. I suggest using beef broth inplace of the water ~ adds more flavor, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Landover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
This is a great recipe for a cold day. I made a double batch of this for a big family dinner and everyone really loved it. Be sure to get stew beef - the cheaper the meat the better it tastes after it has been cooking for a long time. I usually serve this with egg noodles tossed with butter, garlic salt and fresh parsley and a side salad. Almost everyone went for seconds - good thing I made a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This made a simple, tasty meal... would definately make it again. I added a can of stewed tomatoes (pureed in blender first) and bumped up the paprika to 1-1/2 Tbsp since I only had the regular paprika. I served over buttered egg noodles, with mixed veggies and cottage cheese on the side, and both hubby and 6-year-old son ate it up. Next time I make this I will use the Hungarian paprika and add sour cream at the end of cooking like other reviews suggested. Thanks for the great slow cooker recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Maroa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Delicious, Rich and Easy! Made this for dinner last night.. got home late from work and it had cooked for 11 hours on low. The meat was so tender it just melted. The sweet / tangy gravy was delicious over egg noodles. Added a dollop of sour cream for appearance but didn't need it for flavour. I will definitely make this recipe again. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ramona620

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I made this last night for my friends and it was a big hit!! I ended up finding smoked paprika in the supermarket which i think made the dish. also added red pepper, carrot and mushroom like other review has suggested and served with a pot of sour cream and loaf of bread on the table. Brilliant! Will definately make again.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
I added a bit of sour cream in the end, after thickening the sauce. It was very good over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States