Hungarian Goulash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I used smoked paprika and omitted the brown sugar (the ketchup makes is sweet enough). It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This dish was easy, tasted very good, and was a nice change from our everyday fare. It was a tad too salty, so I'll reduce that a bit next time (could have been my measuring.) It even made tough stew meat tender and flavorful, much better than the regular beef, potatoes, and carrots stew I usually make. I will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Followed the recipe as directed. The meat was tender and it smelled wonderful. But, no one in the family liked it...flavor was too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
My husband told me to make sure I add a review and mark it 5 stars. He loved it. I made it for company and it was a big hit. It was made exactly as written and served over buttered egg noodles. Great recipe I'll be making many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKutz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is always a hit at my house. Even in the middle of summer, in the heat when all I want is something cool, folks request this dish. I add a little more brown sugar than is called for, and I load it up with potatoes, carrots, and parsnips (very important!!!). Nothing better than assembling at night, plugging in when I wake up, and then enjoying the ridiculous aroma in the house - and of course a wonderful dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This was delicious. I, too, floured (seasoned with S & P) the meat and browned in oil before putting in the crock pot and it thicken nicely on its own. However, I wasn't crazy about the texture of the meat, it seemed dried out. I think my crock pot is on the hotter side. Next time I make this, and I will, I will try on top of the stove instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Great for a busy family, put in the crock pot in the am and ready to go by dinner time. Taste even better than I remember just like mom used to make, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was so tasty. I seasoned the beef cubes with salt, pepper, garlic powder, seared it with some olive oil then put in crockpot. I then added the onion into the skillet cooked until tender added all the other sauce ingredients until mixed, placed sauce in crockpot then cooked as instructed. I substituted beef broth for the water. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This is a very good recipe that came out tasty and flavorful. I browned the meat in some oil before adding it to the crock pot. If you pat the meat dry with a paper towel and then dredge it in flour, it browns much better. In addition, browning the meat in that manner assists with creating gravy for the goulash. I did not have the sort of paprika called for, so I simply used regular paprika mixed with a tablespoon of chili powder and a generous pinch of cayenne. I also added garlic powder and used tomato sauce in place of ketchup. I doubled the sauce, which means that there was plenty to cover the meat and simmer it in. In addition, I added about a cup of finely chopped green bell pepper to the mix. Finally, I made a light brown roux from 1/4 cup of flour and 1/4 cup of butter and added that to the mixture during the last hour or so of cooking. I did not find the dish overly sweet, nor was it bitter or sour. It was tangy with just a bit of heat to it, courtesy of the cayenne. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
An excellent goulash for those who like slow cooker meals. The version I use most often is almost identical to this except I use tomato paste instead of ketchup, adjust the amount of water accordingly & use my pressure cooker (20 minutes) for a quick dinner. By the time the noodles are done it's supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States