Hungarian Goulash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
First time I made it, I had it in the slow cooker for 9 hours. Meat was overdone, but still good. Second time, I used a well marbled pot roast and let it cook for 6 hours. It turned out PERFECTLY!!!!!! I live this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
My husband followed the recipe to the letter. It was much too pasty. I found it too sweet; he thought something was missing. Disappointing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flamingo13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Great Recipe! I always have a problem when I'm mixing flour with water (rue) Doing this in slow cooker was perfect,no clumping! It was so tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Extremely delicious recipe! Is definitely a keeper. I think this version is tastier than what they make at my favorite Hungarian restaurant because it is sweeter. An absolute success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This was really good. We used stew cubes because that was what we had, and I used beef broth instead of water. Hubby and teen son gave it a thumbs up. This was a nice meal to come home to after work on a chilly day. While my water for noodles boiled, I mixed up my thickening agent for the sauce. It was a very pretty rich red/brown sauce. We ate this with a tossed garden salad, and french bread. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I made this with just a few subtle changes; tomato sauce in place of ketchup, 1 tsp of smoked paprika and 1 tsp regular paprika (couldn't find sweet) and beef broth in place of the water. It was great! My husband also liked it and he is a really picky eater and not always willing to try new things. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TracyMarie
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Amazing! I usually alway make my goulash on the stove top, but this tasted better and it cooked all day while I was at work. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Great, simple recipients, but I thought it was on the sweet side. Definitely will make again, but will omit the brown sugar and replace the ketchup with mixture of tomato paste and beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
My fiance's family is from Hungry. He told me that as a child, his great aunt (now deceased) used to make authentic Hungarian goulash for the family. The recipe was kind of a family secret that no one in the family was able to get from her prior to her passing. I came across this recipe and figured that I would give it a shot! My very first time making it, he took the first bite and his eyes filled with tears at the fact that it was so close to what his late aunt used to make for him as a child!! I have never in my life seen a full grown man become so emotional over food!! Awesome recipe, highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delaware City, Delaware, USA
Living In: Clayton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Very good. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States