Hungarian Goulash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I made this recipe the other night for 6 people and everyone loved it. I wouldn't change a thing. It was great with noodles, sour cream and cottage cheese on the side. A five star for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
My husband liked this more than I did, so we are splitting the difference rating-wise. This didn't look very pretty, but it tasted fine, and the meat was fall-apart tender. I followed the recipe exactly, but if I make this again, I am not sure I would use the ketchup... would probably go with some of the other reviews and use tomato sauce and/or diced tomatoes. Garnished with sour cream, and in my opinion, this helped the taste of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Excellent. Will add a tomato sauce instead of ketchup next time and probably mushrooms too. Regardless, following the directions exactly made for a great authentic goulash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was very good, but I felt it needed some more flavor. I added fresh minced garlic, red pepper flakes, ground black pepper and fresh mushrooms. And, next time I will use half the salt and will brown the meat prior to putting in the slow cooker. Will make again and again with the additions. Thank You Rhonda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This is a fast, easy dish! My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This was one of the easiest slow cooker recipes I've made. I followed the advice of someone who added their egg noodles the last half hour of cooking. That is also when I added the flour paste but I mixed it with milk instead of water. Cooked on high 4 hours and was very tender. I added mushrooms and used beef broth instead of water in the first use of it and left so left out the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I am sorry to say, but I did not care for this. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I followed the suggestion to use seasoned flour (I added a little chipolte seasoning, salt, & pepper) to coat the beef before putting it in the crockpot. I used all the ingredients in the recipe as stated except for I used 1 tsp dijon mustard and 1 tsp. chipotle pepper in adobo sauce that I added to the food processor when I chopped the onions, plus two dashes hot sauce. It gave the dish a mild "kick". I also served with a dollop of sour cream on top and it was delicious! Thanks for the recipe--so easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotland, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mission Hill, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This was pretty good... would definitely skip either the brown sugar, or replace the ketchup with tomato sauce - as other reviewers said, it was a little too sweet. I didn't have time to cube the beef and just threw the whole roast in the crockpot - shredded it at the end. (Also, 1/4 cup of flour made this mixture REALLY thick. Probably doesn't need that much.) It's not gourmet, but fits the bill for a slow cooker recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States