Hungarian Goulash II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is always a hit at my house. Even in the middle of summer, in the heat when all I want is something cool, folks request this dish. I add a little more brown sugar than is called for, and I load it up with potatoes, carrots, and parsnips (very important!!!). Nothing better than assembling at night, plugging in when I wake up, and then enjoying the ridiculous aroma in the house - and of course a wonderful dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This was delicious. I, too, floured (seasoned with S & P) the meat and browned in oil before putting in the crock pot and it thicken nicely on its own. However, I wasn't crazy about the texture of the meat, it seemed dried out. I think my crock pot is on the hotter side. Next time I make this, and I will, I will try on top of the stove instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Great for a busy family, put in the crock pot in the am and ready to go by dinner time. Taste even better than I remember just like mom used to make, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was so tasty. I seasoned the beef cubes with salt, pepper, garlic powder, seared it with some olive oil then put in crockpot. I then added the onion into the skillet cooked until tender added all the other sauce ingredients until mixed, placed sauce in crockpot then cooked as instructed. I substituted beef broth for the water. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This is a very good recipe that came out tasty and flavorful. I browned the meat in some oil before adding it to the crock pot. If you pat the meat dry with a paper towel and then dredge it in flour, it browns much better. In addition, browning the meat in that manner assists with creating gravy for the goulash. I did not have the sort of paprika called for, so I simply used regular paprika mixed with a tablespoon of chili powder and a generous pinch of cayenne. I also added garlic powder and used tomato sauce in place of ketchup. I doubled the sauce, which means that there was plenty to cover the meat and simmer it in. In addition, I added about a cup of finely chopped green bell pepper to the mix. Finally, I made a light brown roux from 1/4 cup of flour and 1/4 cup of butter and added that to the mixture during the last hour or so of cooking. I did not find the dish overly sweet, nor was it bitter or sour. It was tangy with just a bit of heat to it, courtesy of the cayenne. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
An excellent goulash for those who like slow cooker meals. The version I use most often is almost identical to this except I use tomato paste instead of ketchup, adjust the amount of water accordingly & use my pressure cooker (20 minutes) for a quick dinner. By the time the noodles are done it's supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
DE-LISH!!! This was so good and easy! The meat was tender and served with egg noodles it reminded me of the Goulash my mother used to make only better! The best part is that it cooks in the slow cooker! What more can you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
10 hours in a crockpot ended to have meat a little dry. I just added 1 cup of cold milk and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nice, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France
Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
this was just not good. I followed the recipe exactly and was really looking forward to it, smelled sooooo good cooking. Tasted just like sloppy joes with noodles. Sorry, will never even try to tweak, not good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marine City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Taylor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I use this recipe all the time!A very simple and tasty goulash. I'm not a big fan of using salt, so the 1st time was too salty for me. 2nd time I didn't use any, which was fine - just needs about a teaspoon I think. A very good dish served with rice, noodles or potatoes. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States