Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
This recipe was very tasty. I doubled the pepper, because we like it very spicy, and I put in some potatoes the last hour of cooking. I don't think you need 1/3 cup of the oil, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stuck in the suburbs

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
Yummy! I had never tasted Hungarian goulash before this, so I was pleasantly surprised. It makes a thick, beefy stew with a heavy dose of paprika. I think it would also be great with a few vegetables, like carrots and potatoes, but this way is probably the traditional way. The longer it stews, the better, so it doesn't qualify as quick. It's great for a cold drizzly fall day when you have nothing better to do than stay indoors, and cook up some comfort! We served it with Rhonda's Spaetzel, which was also very good. P.S. We just use enough oil to keep it from sticking, so it's probably not 1/3 cup, and we used half the amount of salt called for. We also passed on the sour cream garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
Very Tasty! I used only 2 teaspoons of salt instead of 3 and used beef broth for 1 cup of water. I ended up adding another 1/2 cup of water than the recipe called for to thin it. Beef was very tender. Will decrease oil by half next time. This dish was flavorful and hearty.Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
This is the recipe for goulash to save!!My family and guests loved it.Had it waiting in oven when guests arrived, served an hour later with no fuss. (on top of noodles). Subbed 1 can broth for the water, would use more paprika next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. Easy to make and not alot of ingredients. It was even better the next day! Reheats nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
Awesome--a big hit with the family--especially my husband. I had been looking for a goulash recipe for quite some time. I'm SO glad I found this one! It's almost too easy--I'll definitely make this again. I served this over wide egg noodles--delicious meal! (By the way, I only used 1/4 cup of oil.) Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
This is a wonderful receipe. I added 1 can of beef broth and served this dish over nooodles -- wonderful! I will definitely make this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
This is the best recipe I have ever used!! Everyone raved about it. I served it with homemade spatezle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
I found this recipe here last fall and made it several times. If you like your a bit more spicy use the hot paprika in place of the sweet. I have served it over noodles, rice and mashed potatoes. This is one you will enjoy again and again. I think this time I will try chicken broth in addition to some water...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANDMABOA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
We love this dish! I used ground beef and served with spaetzle. A wonderful family type meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States