Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Good basic recipe that can be adjusted to taste. Hungarian goulash should be a flexible recipe, and you should taste it and adjust it when it is almost cooked, to suit your own taste. I am of Hungarian origin and these changes come close to my grandma’s goulash: there is no need to separate the onions from the meat, stir fry the onion, then add the meat, stir fry again, the add all other ingredients to the same pot except the water, stir fry again, then add the water last. Feel free to vary this according to what you have at home. Tomato instead of tomato paste, Or even no tomato! I add 2-3 tbsp more paprika (the sweet kind, not the hot kind) half as much tomato paste, and may add some chopped green pepper (no more than 1/2 cup), a bit more garlic, I always add 2-3 tbsp soy sauce, and even a bit of spicy chili sauce...to enhance the beefy flavour.... the key is to let the 'gravy' form by stewing it until the juices thicken without any flour added; the cheaper cuts of beef are better for this, as they are more flavourful and provide more 'gravy'.( I use boneless short rib roast that I cube, so that I know the consistency will be uniform) if at the end the stew seems watery, then boil it down until you like the consistency, if it seems dry, then add some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
559 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
I make this recipe all the time (with modifications) and it is always a crowd pleaser! I add: 3 tblsp Worcestershire Sauce, 2 tblsp brown sugar, 1 tblsp vinegar, 2 tblsp katsup and use beef broth as others suggested. I also use London Broil and slice itht thin then cut into chunks. Thanks for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
Very Tasty! I used only 2 teaspoons of salt instead of 3 and used beef broth for 1 cup of water. I ended up adding another 1/2 cup of water than the recipe called for to thin it. Beef was very tender. Will decrease oil by half next time. This dish was flavorful and hearty.Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I really liked this recipe. After browning the meat, I put everything in a crock pot and cooked it for about 7 hours or so. I served it over egg noodles with a side of cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I found this recipe to be extremely salty. My husband and I, both of Hungarian decent, couldn't even finish our leftovers. We're all for dishes with lots of spice and flavor - but this just had too much salt that over-powered the dish. Maybe we're just too used to the "real thing," we were just hoping to find a goulash recipe with less fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
Yummy! I had never tasted Hungarian goulash before this, so I was pleasantly surprised. It makes a thick, beefy stew with a heavy dose of paprika. I think it would also be great with a few vegetables, like carrots and potatoes, but this way is probably the traditional way. The longer it stews, the better, so it doesn't qualify as quick. It's great for a cold drizzly fall day when you have nothing better to do than stay indoors, and cook up some comfort! We served it with Rhonda's Spaetzel, which was also very good. P.S. We just use enough oil to keep it from sticking, so it's probably not 1/3 cup, and we used half the amount of salt called for. We also passed on the sour cream garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This was delicious! I took other reviewers suggestions and cooked the onions with the meat and used beef broth instead of water. I only used a pinch of salt and served with a garnish of sour cream. An absolute keeper! I served with the German Spaetzle Dumplings recipe on this site. Thanks Wendy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buckingham, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Simply delicious, a real treat! I winged it a little on both the cooking method and ingredients but not so much that it significantly changed the recipe. For instance, I added more paprika and garlic, added a little flour to thicken, and used chicken broth for the water, nearly double the amount called for. I added some mixed, chopped bell peppers and fresh sliced mushrooms which proved to be a flavorful plus. Rather than simmering this on the stove I transferred it to the oven and cooked it at 325 degrees for 2 hours. The wonderful aroma while this was cooking was such a tease, but the result was well worth the wait. The meat was fork tender and the sauce richly flavored. I served this over buttered egg noodles with a dollop of sour cream and sprinkle of fresh minced parsley. Even after supper hubs was still raving about it! A definite "make again" dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
This is the recipe for goulash to save!!My family and guests loved it.Had it waiting in oven when guests arrived, served an hour later with no fuss. (on top of noodles). Subbed 1 can broth for the water, would use more paprika next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This was easy and my picky husband even loved it. I added extra garlic, and I added some cayenne pepper and substituted olive oil for vegetable oil. This was delicious and I will definitely make this again. Simply yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States