Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Made exactly as per recipe. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnelson204

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This was excellent, one of my new favorites! While making it, I realized I didn't have tomato paste, so I substituted the same amount of ketchup and then added flour to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I remember my mom making goulash when I was a child. The recipe strongly echoes the one she made. I like the slightly twangy contrast between sweet and spice. I added wine as recommended by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was great. The people claiming it was bland didn't use the right paprika. The stuff you buy at Vons folks doesn't cut it. Get Hungarian Paprika. It is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Not good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Made this in a slow cooker but otherwise followed the recipe. It was so yummy I didn't even mind the noodles it was poured over and I don't like noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I've made this twice the first time using regular paprika ( didn't realize there were more than one type of paprika) it wasn't very good at all. The second time used hungarian sweet paprika and it was much better but still nothing I will make again. I followed the recipe as written and it looked good just didn't taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laingsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
A little fiddly to make, I'm a 'all in one pot at the same time' kind of cook, but the end result was well worth the effort. delicious, delightful and a definite 'make again' kind of meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edenvale, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This recipe is a great starting point. I've made this several times. After making it multiple times I've gotten it to the right taste for me and my wife. I use FAR less salt (under 1 tsp) and less oil (roughly half), and it's plenty. I use roughly 2 1/2 tablespoons of hot Hungarian paprika instead of sweet (I love the added kick) and I add one beef bouillon cube. A little cayenne pepper is great for a some added heat, but it's a little much for my wife, so I avoid it now. I cook the onions and garlic together first and after a few minutes add the meat/seasonings to brown. Great with a couple potatoes added to the pot, but even better served over spaetzle or egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was good but a little bland. I browned the meat first then the onions and garlic. I also browned the paprika and tomato paste in the oil and proceeded from there. I had to add a dash of sugar to cut down on the bitterness. There was something missing but I can't put my finger on it. I will make my tweaks next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States