Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Made this in a slow cooker but otherwise followed the recipe. It was so yummy I didn't even mind the noodles it was poured over and I don't like noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I've made this twice the first time using regular paprika ( didn't realize there were more than one type of paprika) it wasn't very good at all. The second time used hungarian sweet paprika and it was much better but still nothing I will make again. I followed the recipe as written and it looked good just didn't taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laingsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
A little fiddly to make, I'm a 'all in one pot at the same time' kind of cook, but the end result was well worth the effort. delicious, delightful and a definite 'make again' kind of meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edenvale, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This recipe is a great starting point. I've made this several times. After making it multiple times I've gotten it to the right taste for me and my wife. I use FAR less salt (under 1 tsp) and less oil (roughly half), and it's plenty. I use roughly 2 1/2 tablespoons of hot Hungarian paprika instead of sweet (I love the added kick) and I add one beef bouillon cube. A little cayenne pepper is great for a some added heat, but it's a little much for my wife, so I avoid it now. I cook the onions and garlic together first and after a few minutes add the meat/seasonings to brown. Great with a couple potatoes added to the pot, but even better served over spaetzle or egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was good but a little bland. I browned the meat first then the onions and garlic. I also browned the paprika and tomato paste in the oil and proceeded from there. I had to add a dash of sugar to cut down on the bitterness. There was something missing but I can't put my finger on it. I will make my tweaks next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Never made Hungarian Goulash before. I don't like American Goulash so I guess I thought I might not like it. but then Richard Blais made it for Wolfgang Puck on Top Chef this week and I thought I'd try it. I'm so glad I did! Here's my small changes: I added a little more water. Actually I filled the tomato paste can 3 times... so if my math doesn't fail me that's 18 oz. of water and the recipe calls for 12 oz. I took the suggestion of one reviewer and only used 2 t salt but did end up adding just a little (abt 1/2 t) Paula Dean's House Seasoning (recipe: 1 cup salt, 1/4 cup black pepper, 1/4 cup garlic powder -- handy stuff to keep on hand -- that Paula's pretty smart) and a pinch of sugar. Served it over extra wide noodles. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Moore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Took the advice of a couple of the reviews and added some stuff and it was pretty tasty and we will be having this again. I added some vinegar, brown sugar, worchestshire, and extra paprika. We also topped with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Excellent! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lakewoodlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
We didn't particularly care for this. Hubby said it was bland. I liked the consistency of the gravy, and despite being time consuming it was easy to assemble. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States