Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I am rating this recipe 5 stars based on my modifications. I changed this recipe pretty significantly, but you can trust that the results were delicious. I only used two pounds of beef chunks to start with. Then I doubled the paprika, cut the salt to 1.5 teaspoons, and added those along with the pepper to a new plastic grocery bag. I then added the beef cubes to the bag and shook it. This method produces the most evenly coated pieces. I cut down the oil by just under half and used olive oil. I also substituted the tomato paste with a can of petite diced tomatoes. For some heat, I added a few pinches of crushed red pepper. Then I substituted beef broth for the water and added an entire red bell pepper. My final alteration was to add 2/3 cup of cabernet sauvignon to the pot. These alterations, especially substituting diced tomatoes for the tomato paste, took the recipe in an decidedly different direction, but it really worked out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I never buy chuck.. It was on sale and 'recipe' recommended. The sauce for the noodles was sooo good, thick and rich-I thought it included beef stock instead of water.. My mistake but-- not a mistake. The meat got so tender.Everyone loved it. It was time consuming and it better be a special occasion before I make it again. And I will… I added 1/3 cp of cabernet savignon and it just added a hit of --goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
No oil and garlic please, less tomato and salt. More onion could help. Beef would be good for a goulash soup, just add vegetable too. Use pork or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I added colored bell peppers as that's how I know it from my childhood. Served over Spaetzle..hmmhmm good! Taste is great, but I wish I would have made more sauce as that's what was gone first leaving a lot of pieces of meat. Keeper but gotta tripple the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
very bland, I wish I had read the reviews first for suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
A family favorite- just like my mom used to make when I was a kid! I LUV it!!! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
It's a miracle! All 3 of my picky children gobbled it up. I followed the suggestions re reducing the oil & salt. I also added a bay leaf. I used chuck & it took 2 1/2 hours to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was a great recipe. It had such a unique sweet, spicy, and tanginess to it. It probably would have been a totally different dish if I had used Hungarian Paprika and I finally got some and will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFreicook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
No changes on my end!! I take my son to a local diner for goulash on Thursdays. He loves theirs. But when I made this, he said it was better than the diner's recipe. Kudos to this recipe. As stated I cook half the onions with half the beef then cook the other half of same. Than I proceed as recipe states. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Feiertag

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I found that this recipe didn't have much flavor to it even after I added a beef bouillon cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States