Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was fabulous! I have been looking for more good slow cooker recipes, and this is a good one. Another goulash recipe called for smoked paprika, which I love, so I used that instead of sweet paprika to coat the meat. I also deglazed the pan with white wine I had around, added 3 carrots cut in a large dice, and used a can of tomato sauce because I was out of paste. It cooked all afternoon in the slow cooker, and I did have to add another cup of water near the end of cooking. I served over egg noodles with a dollop of sour cream on top and a sprinkling of parsley. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This was very good. I used flank steak since that's what I had on hand and Spanish smoked paprika (also what I had on hand). I added a little bit of brown sugar since I didn't use the sweet paprika, and used 1/4 cup of wine in place of some of the water to give it that wine reduction richness I love. This would be wonderful served over homemade spaetzle but I wasn't that motivated, so served over buttered egg noodles. You probably do not need quite a smuch oil as this calls for. I am also partial to very salty foods but felt 3 tsp. was way too much so I cut it back, then decided it was perfect. For those with less salty tastes, I'd use half the salt and add it to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Use a good chuck roast cut up at home. Makes all the difference in recipe consistancy. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I tend to use a whole lot more paprika than this calls for, but this is otherwise a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Basic recipe is good but I changed it up a bit first. I used 2 cups of spicey salsa to this dish instead of water and added 1 cup of cut up celery for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Blue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Perfect! Works every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Reminded me of childhood. Very flavorful and easy to make. I put it over egg noodles. The only thing I changed was I added 2 large spoons of brown sugar since I only had regular, not sweet paprika. Yum yum, especially a day later when the flavors were able to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This recipe was a big hit in my house tonight. I did make a few minor adjustments. I couldn't find Hungarian or sweet paprika so I used regular paprika and then just added a couple of tablespoons of brown sugar. I used canola oil instead of vegetable oil and used half of the amount called for (1/3 cup seemed like too much to me). I also added a beef boullion cube to the water and eliminated the extra salt. Served over extra broad egg noodles lightly buttered. Yum! I will most definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States