Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
It was good, but it could be more tasty and spicy in my case. I would add 1 fresh paprika sliced and 150g fresh mushrooms sliced, plus a bit of chilli as flakes or as powder. That gives the dish the kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Wow - simply deelish. Used cubed chicken, 12 oz tomato paste mixed well with 2 cups water, smokey paprika, scant two tsp salt total, and 3 cloves garlic. Served over short, wide no-yolk noodles; garnished each serving with sour cream and chopped fresh parsley; offered Pete's hot sauce. Steamed fresh green beans finished this delicious meal. Next time will try adding fresh chopped carrots and maybe some green pepper during the last half hour. Doubling the tomato paste and mixing with 2 cups water b4 adding probably solved the "too dry" problem many reviewers mentioned. Thanks! reviewers for all of your input - always helps. This is now a family favorite - very authentic-tasting and maybe more so if sweet paprika is available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Yum-eeeeee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Excellent recipe! I cut the salt and used the same pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
It was great! I used my slow cooker for this :) I put all the ingredients at once and cooked for 7 hrs on low. I probably should have done 6 hrs. The taste was amazing and the meat was cooked almost to perfection! I eliminated the vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I made this the other night and found it to be lacking in flavor once you added the noodles. My husband said it was tasteless. Don't think I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canon City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I found this recipe to be a little bland. I guess I messed it up by covering it to simmer. It was vry watery and not much flavor but very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I was excited about this recipe but I tasted it and thought it was ok, but I was lacking flavor so I added some red wine and upped the tomato paste to 1 1/2 times what they call for. Lso cut down the extra salt. Also chopped carrots and chopped cabbage the last 20 minutes, and added a packet of any beef stew mix and some ketchup. I also was making this for a serving of 12, so one packet of beef stew mix was plenty. Once the stew mix goes in it has a tendancy to burn, so very low heat and lots of stirring. This is now my signature dish for whenever I have to make a meal for a family in need and when I have guests over. Everyone always wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I have made this twice now and I love it. The second time I did increase the garlic to three cloves but that is personal preference. I could eat my weight in this, although I probably shouldn't ;^)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States