Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by nrbutton
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I omitted 1 tsp salt and pepper and added 3 tablespoons soy sauce. I also cooked the stew meat with the onions then transferred all the ingredients to a crock pot for 8 hours. The gravy was the perfect consistency and the meat was so tender. I served it over egg noodles. This is the first goulash I have ever tasted and I was pleasantly surprised at how good it is. This will definitely be one of my regular recipes. It was much more filling than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I fixed this tonight. This is a keeper of a recipe. I didn't need to simmer the meat as long as the recipe stated. Served with homemade noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I made this two times now and am a big fan. The second time I cooked the onions as directed but then threw everything in the crock pot on low for 8 hours. It turned out perfect. Also, I have a hard time finding sweet paprika so I just use plaine but then add a pinch of brown sugar in the pot as well. Simple and hearty. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren
Photo by DonFosson
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Definitely a keeper! Instead of simmering 2 hours I pressure cooked the meat 30 minutes at low pressure. The meat was tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Loved this recipe. Made some minor modifications: added 2 Tbl of flour to the paprika mixture; used 2 garlic cloves; cooked in a slow cooker on low for 7 hrs; added 2 carrots and 8 oz of mushrooms to slow cooker after 2 hrs. It was fantastic. Served with egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I added beef broth instead of water and I cooked it in the crockpot. It was pretty good but my husband wasn't crazy about it. I might make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Thank you - brought back memories for my husband who lost his Hungarian Mother a couple years ago. It actually made him cry. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Could not be easier! Used a rump roast, still slightly frozen, which made cubing it a good bit easier. Per other reviews, used 1 c. beef broth, 1/4 c red wine and 1/4 c water. Added 1 tsp worcestershire sauce. Slow simmered for 3 hours. Meat was quite tender, and sauce is yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
The excessive amount of salt called for in this recipe ruined the dish. So, cut waaayyy back on the salt, add a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce and make sure to use Hungarian sweet paprika, and just like that you have a delicious five star goulash dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
One thing about this site that is a plus is the reviews. I made this a while back, but not before reading the comments, so I cut back on the salt, used some beef broth in place of water and less oil. I've always loved a good goulash. As a kid growing up, the older ladies of our extended family and a lot of the neighborhood ladies, all made some form of goulash. I think the ones I liked best were those that added a few veggies like you would in making a stew. Rutabaga's, turnips, carrots, cubed baby red potatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Kramer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States