Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Love it!! I used London broil and venison meat and hot Hungarian paprika. Five Stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Fabulous! I tweeked it slightly.. after browning the meat while pan is hot I throw in a splash of red wine (I don't measure, but I'd say 1/4 cup maybe), stir to loosen the pan drippings, then pour over meat. I agree with other reviews to only use 2 tsp salt. 3 makes it too salty even for a salt-fiend like me. Everyone I have served it to has raved about the taste. Also, I have cooked it in the slow cooker - about 4 hours on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
With my little adjustments it tasted great, better than my mom's! In general, the recipe is very good: right proportions, right directions, tasted like my mom used to cook when we were kids: we are originally from Europe and not foreigners to European cuisine. However, I managed to improve my mom's perfection :). So, my changes: I added about 6 Tbsp. of dry red wine, 3 dashes of smoked paprika, and increase amount of tomato paste by 30%. The taste and texture turned very nice and reach. Also, one adding I am going to continue practicing: I cooked beef on the hot pan with olive oil for a short time until it is brown on both sides, transferred to crockpot, added the rest of the ingredients, left it be for 4 hours on high and went for a hike with my honey. When we were back refreshed and hungry, all I had to make is mashed potato (do not forget crushed garlic!). Voilà!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYNOCHKA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Simple and really good over egg noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Guarducci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I followed the recipe although I did add a little more water and 1/2 tsp of hot paprika along with the sweet, it was delicious with a big dollop of sour cream, served with Sobeys Sensations (in Canada) extra broad German egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This was very good. We wanted to lick the pan!! I did add a T worchestire and a T brown sugar as in other suggestions, and more paprika! Just shook some in. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
First time ever making goulash and I must say that it does need the sour cream. I kept in on low for the afternoon and the beef was nice and tender. This is an easy recipe and quite tasty. Thanks ENVIRO2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This was really simple and delicious! I covered the meat in the spices and let it sit in the fridge ahead of time and used a pressure cooker to cook it faster. It worked out great! Next time I think I will try it using a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
As simple as this recipe is, it can be simpler and less salty: Meat should be smaller chunks, about 1" so that it tenderizes enough. Cheaper cuts actually make it more flavorful. Make certain you use genuine Hungarian sweet paprika, maybe a little hot, but not the Spanish, which the same. In the oil, sweat the onions to translucency at medium heat. Add the garlic (optional, but good)and sweat briefly. Add Paprika , and stir to sweat briefly - There should be enough oil so you DO NOT BURN IT. Toss in the meat and stir to coat it with the mixture in the pot. Keep turning it until it is all coated and not sticking to the bottom. Do not attempt to sear it. It's not necessary, and it would burn the paprika mix. Add the half of the water, reheat to low boil, cover, turn it down to simmer about 15 minutes. ** Add the half of the tomato paste, ONE teaspoon of salt. DO NOT OVER SALT. Bring to VERY low simmer for 1 1/2 to 2hrs. Check for fluids, flavor and salt near but not at the end. ** Alternatively, at this point transfer to a crock pot, squeegeeing all the sauce with it. Put it on at noon and eat it at supper! Best served with nokedli or pasta with lots of surface area like fetuccini, rotini or farfale. A dollop of sour cream is nice, and creamy garlicy cucumber salad seals the deal. Jó étvágyat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Horrible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States