Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Close, but there are no tomato products in authentic Hungarian Goulash at all. All that red is paprika, not tomatoes. This is a dish Hungarian herdsmen made in a kettle over an open fire. They would have only the bare necessities with them, and that does not include tomatoes. Just meat, salt, pepper, paprika, maybe onions/maybe not, maybe garlic/maybe not. That is all. And some bread to dip in the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rb Redmond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This was a big hit for my European visitors. only changes were I added 2 tablespoons flour to coat the cubes w paprika. It will make a slightly crusted sear and not steam the meat, plus with thicken the stew gravey. Use a chuck roast if you can get it and cut into cubes! Add the tomatoe paste first and stir 15-20 secs to get rid of the tinny taste before adding the onlions and remaining ingredients. Served over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hyde Park, New York, USA
Living In: Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Delicious recipe! Even with a leaner cut of stewing beef, it turned out very tender and flavourful with around 3 hours of cook time. Modifications I made: cut down to 1 tsp of salt, added 3 cloves of garlic, added 3 fresh tomatoes (chopped) in addition to tomato paste (reduced water to 1/2 cup only because of the water the tomatoes give out), added a splash of Worcestershire sauce, and used regular paprika because I didn't have Hungarian sweet paprika (and added around 1 tbsp of white sugar for some sweetness).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
we loved it. adjusted for 4. added a whole can of paste and a little more water for the extra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Loved it...less is more & this recipe proved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I make this often. I add 1T hot paprika, 2T brown sugar, 1T worcestershire. After browning onion and meat separately, I dump it in the slow cooker and leave it alone. Also, if you can get REAL paprika from Hungary, you are in for a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess Gilman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
To me, it is missing a lot of the aromatics that go in this traditional dish- Add two diced green peppers( bell works in a pinch), 1 diced parsnip, 1 diced carrot, and a handful of celery leaves( diced celery stalk or root works as well). Also add about a teaspoon of ground carraway seed. The aromatics( carrots,parsnip and celery ( if using leaves add later or the taste will get masked). go in with the onions), the peppers go in about 20-30 minutes before finish so they are tender but not mush. Add the ground carraway when you add the paprika. This is the way it was cooked for me when I was in Budapest and the taste is unforgettable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I've made this a few times. My family loves it. If you don't have time or want to make spaetzle to go with it, Reames brand frozen egg noodles go really well with this. I usually add some diced green pepper and a little more Hungarian paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This is yummy! The only thing is that is a bit salty. Next time I will not add the last teaspoon of salt. It came out a bit soupy, so I just added a cornstarch slurry to thicken things up a bit. We enjoyed ours over pasta because my daughter doesn't like egg noodles. I might try it over spaetzle next time for a different meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This recipe was so delicious! Hands down the best Hungarian goulash I've had. I added a lot of extra paprika and also added some onion powder. The beef didn't sear like I planned and it ended up sort of pasty. I was afraid it would be ruined, but the beef still turned out so tender and flavorful. I made a few changes, and as the reviews suggested I added half of a green pepper. I also popped it into the crock pot after adding all of the ingredients, added some beef broth and cooked it on high for a few hours. I served on top of spaetzle and sprinkled cayenne pepper on top. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States