Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
My husband and I both loved this dish. Very easy to make. The only thing I wished I had made extra sauce. It was so good to use with crusty bread. I followed the recipe except I did eliminate one teaspoon of salt because my husband has a habit of salting without tasting first. Will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
will make again...very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
not too bad ... Do not remove the onion. Removes the pot from heat, sprinkle Hungarian sweet paprika, meat impose. Crust on the meat a few minutes. Add salt to food, garlic, ground cumin (one teaspoon) a chopped pepper. A chopped tomatoes. The end result is a creamy, thick gravy. Bon appetite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beko Zsolt Ax

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I tried this recipe but added a handful of caraway seeds. It was awesome. Served it with buttered noodles. My family loved it. Best of all, my puppy, Chloe, who hates everything and never begs for food, drove us nuts until we gave her some with her dog food. Funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
simple and flavorful dish. made it exactly as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Recipe turned out well. I used beef broth instead of water and did most of the salting at the table to avoid the saltiness warned of in some reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Awesome! I followed the recipe to the letter (including the addition of the salt) and it came out perfectly. Too often people "tweak" recipes to make them their own. This one does NOT need tweaking. Make it as is and you will have an authentic Goulash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Love it!! I used London broil and venison meat and hot Hungarian paprika. Five Stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Fabulous! I tweeked it slightly.. after browning the meat while pan is hot I throw in a splash of red wine (I don't measure, but I'd say 1/4 cup maybe), stir to loosen the pan drippings, then pour over meat. I agree with other reviews to only use 2 tsp salt. 3 makes it too salty even for a salt-fiend like me. Everyone I have served it to has raved about the taste. Also, I have cooked it in the slow cooker - about 4 hours on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
With my little adjustments it tasted great, better than my mom's! In general, the recipe is very good: right proportions, right directions, tasted like my mom used to cook when we were kids: we are originally from Europe and not foreigners to European cuisine. However, I managed to improve my mom's perfection :). So, my changes: I added about 6 Tbsp. of dry red wine, 3 dashes of smoked paprika, and increase amount of tomato paste by 30%. The taste and texture turned very nice and reach. Also, one adding I am going to continue practicing: I cooked beef on the hot pan with olive oil for a short time until it is brown on both sides, transferred to crockpot, added the rest of the ingredients, left it be for 4 hours on high and went for a hike with my honey. When we were back refreshed and hungry, all I had to make is mashed potato (do not forget crushed garlic!). Voilà!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYNOCHKA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States