Hungarian Goulash I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This recipe was so delicious! Hands down the best Hungarian goulash I've had. I added a lot of extra paprika and also added some onion powder. The beef didn't sear like I planned and it ended up sort of pasty. I was afraid it would be ruined, but the beef still turned out so tender and flavorful. I made a few changes, and as the reviews suggested I added half of a green pepper. I also popped it into the crock pot after adding all of the ingredients, added some beef broth and cooked it on high for a few hours. I served on top of spaetzle and sprinkled cayenne pepper on top. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Loved it! So tender and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is a great alternative to chili when craving something hearty and spicy during the cold winter months. Instead of using egg noodles I used macaroni which was a hit in my house. This will stay in my everyday recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I cooked in the slow cooker. Upon coming home the house smelled great. Opening the lid, it wasn't thick like the picture - so I was a little concerned. But once I added some corn startch, cooked for 20 more minutes and served over egg noodles it was hit. Definitely will make again. Other adjustments...Cut the salt in half and added a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I am rating this recipe 5 stars based on my modifications. I changed this recipe pretty significantly, but you can trust that the results were delicious. I only used two pounds of beef chunks to start with. Then I doubled the paprika, cut the salt to 1.5 teaspoons, and added those along with the pepper to a new plastic grocery bag. I then added the beef cubes to the bag and shook it. This method produces the most evenly coated pieces. I cut down the oil by just under half and used olive oil. I also substituted the tomato paste with a can of petite diced tomatoes. For some heat, I added a few pinches of crushed red pepper. Then I substituted beef broth for the water and added an entire red bell pepper. My final alteration was to add 2/3 cup of cabernet sauvignon to the pot. These alterations, especially substituting the tomato paste for the diced tomatoes, took the recipe in an decidedly different direction, but it really worked out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I never buy chuck.. It was on sale and 'recipe' recommended. The sauce for the noodles was sooo good, thick and rich-I thought it included beef stock instead of water.. My mistake but-- not a mistake. The meat got so tender.Everyone loved it. It was time consuming and it better be a special occasion before I make it again. And I will… I added 1/3 cp of cabernet savignon and it just added a hit of --goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
No oil and garlic please, less tomato and salt. More onion could help. Beef would be good for a goulash soup, just add vegetable too. Use pork or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I added colored bell peppers as that's how I know it from my childhood. Served over Spaetzle..hmmhmm good! Taste is great, but I wish I would have made more sauce as that's what was gone first leaving a lot of pieces of meat. Keeper but gotta tripple the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
very bland, I wish I had read the reviews first for suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
A family favorite- just like my mom used to make when I was a kid! I LUV it!!! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States