Hungarian Flourless Hazelnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
This is a fabulous torte. I've made it several times and it has been perfect EVERY time. I do "sift" the hazelnuts using a colendar to be sure the nuts are fine enough. I've also made it using almonds instead of hazelnuts. (12 oz equals 2 1/2 c. nuts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
I very much enjoyed this cake; I've made it seperately with almonds and hazelnuts. However, I did make several modifications to it. Since the cake is so dry, after I sliced the cake into 2 layers, I soaked each layer with Frangelico or Amaretto. Then I added whipped cream stabilizer, and flavored the whipped cream with liquer and sugar. Lastly, I used an extra half pint of whipped cream in the "frosting". With these additions, I've gotten rave reviews at the parties I took the cakes to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Thank goodness someone is drawing attention to the traditional Hungarian torte recipes. These flourless "tortes" are NOT easy to make and if you can master them---you will forever long for tortes and scowl at those "common" flour cakes! I grew up eating these cakes and they are splendid--as is this one. It DOES take practice to master these--and they are worth it. The secret of tortes are many, many light layers and lots of air being beaten into the batter. Bakers are no longer taught these old baking techniques as these cakes commonly used 16 to 24 egg whites each and ground nuts for batter---which equates to very expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
This has a delicious hazelnut flavor, and was surprisingly easy to make. It's also very healthy, for a cake! I used farm eggs, so I actually needed nine eggs to make it workable. I started with seven separated, but the nuts and yolks formed a dense ball that was difficult to work with, so I wound up adding two whole eggs to the mixture before folding in the whites. So if you find yourself in that position, just add more eggs until it softens up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I made this for Christmas dessert this year. A few comments, when I mixed the ground nuts (you can buy them pre-ground) into the yolks, it turned into a hard lump making gently folding the whites impossible. Next time I'll fold the nuts into the whites then into the yolks. I used two 9" round pans (lined the bottom with parchment) and baked them for 45 minutes (no springform pan, but this worked great.) To the whipped cream I added 4 tbs powdered sugar and 4 tbs Godiva liqueur. Awesome dessert! My husband says it's his new favorite (he is very picky, not a sweets eater.) Though, he thought a little rum soaked into the cakes would be a good addition. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I experimented with this cake, as I want to make it for my sis-in-law this weekend... who is allergic to both wheat and dairy! But...This cake was awesome!! Instead of cream, I used dark chocolate ganache and I loved it! My hubby cant wait for me to make it again. I will be making it for her birthday this weekend and I hope she loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
This was not difficult to make but was drier than I had hoped for - and did not require the full time to cook. It took 15 less minutes to cook and that was with my oven on about 320. In addition, the recipe does not indicate when to add the white sugar (although common sense says add to the egg whites). The whip cream should also contain some white sugar, as it is a bit bland by itself in between the layers. I found that the cake was difficult to cut into 3 layers and opted for 2 layers instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belinda blight
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I decided to make this cake for my dad for his birthday. He likes dense nutty cakes, and this sounded exactly to his tastes. I followed the recipe as it was written. The nut and yolk mixture was rather stiff for folding in the whites, but if you do the 1/3 first trick, it works ok. I think it probably lost a bit of air trying to get it mixed in, but I didnt fuss too much, and left it very slightly lumpy to avoid losing too much more. The cake cooked beautifully in 55 minutes, leaving it quite moist and smelling gorgeous. I decided, like others, to cut it into 2 layers, as it wasnt a very thick cake.(and who needs the extra cream?) I did however make it a little extra special by making a runny ganache with some melted chocolate, milk and a slosh of quintreau and spreading it on the bottom layer before the cream. This complemented the fresh strawberries we had with it perfectly. Everyone wanted a second piece! My dad is surely going to insist I make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belinda blight

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
One of my absolute favorites! I have used both almonds and hazelnuts… I can’t decide which I like better. My only adjustment is to leave it in one layer, then serve with a dollop of whipped cream and a sprinkle of nuts. (A little less work for the cook!) Thanks, Laura, for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Excellent recipe and a huge hit with my mom who has allergies to flour. I used almonds instead of hazelnuts and put strawberries and whipped cream in the layers. I found it only needed 60 minutes and was very moist and delicious. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States