Hungarian Flourless Hazelnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
Divine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
This was not difficult to make but was drier than I had hoped for - and did not require the full time to cook. It took 15 less minutes to cook and that was with my oven on about 320. In addition, the recipe does not indicate when to add the white sugar (although common sense says add to the egg whites). The whip cream should also contain some white sugar, as it is a bit bland by itself in between the layers. I found that the cake was difficult to cut into 3 layers and opted for 2 layers instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
I very much enjoyed this cake; I've made it seperately with almonds and hazelnuts. However, I did make several modifications to it. Since the cake is so dry, after I sliced the cake into 2 layers, I soaked each layer with Frangelico or Amaretto. Then I added whipped cream stabilizer, and flavored the whipped cream with liquer and sugar. Lastly, I used an extra half pint of whipped cream in the "frosting". With these additions, I've gotten rave reviews at the parties I took the cakes to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
This is a fabulous torte. I've made it several times and it has been perfect EVERY time. I do "sift" the hazelnuts using a colendar to be sure the nuts are fine enough. I've also made it using almonds instead of hazelnuts. (12 oz equals 2 1/2 c. nuts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Thank you Laura for submitting this recipe!! I have just made it as a birthday cake and turned out extremely well. Like the others, I thought it best cut into two layers as it was quite crumbley. My cake wasn't dry though!! I did use two more eggs than the recipe suggested which made it extremely light, I also added a little coffee flavour and fine sugar to the cream and the combination with the nuts is really nice. I'll definately make this cake again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
One of my absolute favorites! I have used both almonds and hazelnuts… I can’t decide which I like better. My only adjustment is to leave it in one layer, then serve with a dollop of whipped cream and a sprinkle of nuts. (A little less work for the cook!) Thanks, Laura, for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I made this for Christmas dessert this year. A few comments, when I mixed the ground nuts (you can buy them pre-ground) into the yolks, it turned into a hard lump making gently folding the whites impossible. Next time I'll fold the nuts into the whites then into the yolks. I used two 9" round pans (lined the bottom with parchment) and baked them for 45 minutes (no springform pan, but this worked great.) To the whipped cream I added 4 tbs powdered sugar and 4 tbs Godiva liqueur. Awesome dessert! My husband says it's his new favorite (he is very picky, not a sweets eater.) Though, he thought a little rum soaked into the cakes would be a good addition. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
Excellent recipie, turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
Thank you for this delicious recipe! It's an excellent birthday treat. The cake turned out moist, but I added rum anyway - it certainly didn't hurt! I also added rum and vanilla sugar to the whipped cream and raisins in the layers between the cake. It was a huge sucsess, and utterly thrilled my friends with wheat allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
This cake was one of the best cakes that I have ever tasted. It had just the right amount 0f hazlenut in it.If you haven't ever eaten this before you must try it.You won't regret it I promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States