Hungarian Flourless Hazelnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This recipe is very good but the trick is to make sure the hazelnuts are ground very fine. I put them in the food processor and then put them through a sieve to make sure they were ground fine enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This cake is so good and happens to be nice and healthy. I only have hand electric beaters and they could not cope with beating the very firm nuts and yolks mixture so I had to just stir and then fold it by hand. Therefore I have ended up with a cake that didn't rise much due to not enough beating. However this cake doesn't need to rise much. It's just more dense and I put the cream on the plate with the cake and topped with blueberries. This cake is absolutely beautiful to eat and such a treat, I will be baking it often! Thank you for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wentworth Falls, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This is a good recipe. During the part where you add the hazelnuts to the egg yolks, I got concerned because everything started turning into cement. So I added a tablespoon of safflour oil and a couple tablespoons of milk. That softened the mix a bit. Folding in the egg whites was tricky because the whites are fluffy and the mix was very hard. I added a third of the mix three times just to ensure the last third would fold in nicely. I think you could increase the baking soda by 50 percent (make it 3 teaspoons) because my cake didn't rise that much. Also, the cake was done after 40 minutes at 325 degrees. But I was using a 10 inch pan and not a 9 inch one. I served it to several people and everyone said they thought it was good. It is my first cake in a while, so I'm pretty happy with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I experimented with this cake, as I want to make it for my sis-in-law this weekend... who is allergic to both wheat and dairy! But...This cake was awesome!! Instead of cream, I used dark chocolate ganache and I loved it! My hubby cant wait for me to make it again. I will be making it for her birthday this weekend and I hope she loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Thank goodness someone is drawing attention to the traditional Hungarian torte recipes. These flourless "tortes" are NOT easy to make and if you can master them---you will forever long for tortes and scowl at those "common" flour cakes! I grew up eating these cakes and they are splendid--as is this one. It DOES take practice to master these--and they are worth it. The secret of tortes are many, many light layers and lots of air being beaten into the batter. Bakers are no longer taught these old baking techniques as these cakes commonly used 16 to 24 egg whites each and ground nuts for batter---which equates to very expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I followed the recipe for this cake and it didn't turn out like a cake at all. The mixture, which was like a thick paste, just dried out in the oven, it didn't rise at all. I was really looking forward to this as I love hazelnuts and hubby can't eat flour. I have made many cakes over the years, and this sadly was the worst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belinda blight
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I decided to make this cake for my dad for his birthday. He likes dense nutty cakes, and this sounded exactly to his tastes. I followed the recipe as it was written. The nut and yolk mixture was rather stiff for folding in the whites, but if you do the 1/3 first trick, it works ok. I think it probably lost a bit of air trying to get it mixed in, but I didnt fuss too much, and left it very slightly lumpy to avoid losing too much more. The cake cooked beautifully in 55 minutes, leaving it quite moist and smelling gorgeous. I decided, like others, to cut it into 2 layers, as it wasnt a very thick cake.(and who needs the extra cream?) I did however make it a little extra special by making a runny ganache with some melted chocolate, milk and a slosh of quintreau and spreading it on the bottom layer before the cream. This complemented the fresh strawberries we had with it perfectly. Everyone wanted a second piece! My dad is surely going to insist I make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belinda blight

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
This has a delicious hazelnut flavor, and was surprisingly easy to make. It's also very healthy, for a cake! I used farm eggs, so I actually needed nine eggs to make it workable. I started with seven separated, but the nuts and yolks formed a dense ball that was difficult to work with, so I wound up adding two whole eggs to the mixture before folding in the whites. So if you find yourself in that position, just add more eggs until it softens up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Excellent recipe and a huge hit with my mom who has allergies to flour. I used almonds instead of hazelnuts and put strawberries and whipped cream in the layers. I found it only needed 60 minutes and was very moist and delicious. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
This cake was one of the best cakes that I have ever tasted. It had just the right amount 0f hazlenut in it.If you haven't ever eaten this before you must try it.You won't regret it I promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States