Hungarian Flourless Hazelnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This is so my mother-in-laws Nut Torte cake! She got it from her mother-in-law who was Hungarian over 50 years ago! This is also the birthday cake she makes for all of us! Sometimes it is 2 layers and other times it is 3 layers. I love this cake. She frost it with frosting that is cooked on the stove. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Absolutely amazing and easy to make. My two omas always made this cake and for that reason I always thought that it must be a complicated recipe. Now I know why they always made it, it's easy and delicious...the perfect combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rie1975
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I only tried this recipe because I wanted to make a dessert for a gluten-free friend of mine. I am so glad I did! I will make this again for sure! I substituted almonds for the hazelnuts, divided the batter into two 9 inch cake pans.(so I didn't have to cut it) and then I frosted it with chocolate buttercream. OMG! YUMMY! I will be making this again; I didn't miss the flour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rie1975

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
this was a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was delicious! Very different from the average "cake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I loved this cake, as did my Christmas company! One thing I would change is the final product. Because I could only cut it into two layers--and because when you cover with whipped cream you are committed to keeping it cold and/or must eat it right away--I will leave it in one layer next time and add a generous dollop of whipped cream when plated. One other thing, I added about a tablespoon of sugar and about 3 tablespoons of rum to the cream while whipping. This added a little more dimension to the whipped cream. Thanks for this recipe! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JAMMOBUN
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Taste is great! Not too sweet and full of flavour. Next time though, I would definitely cut back on baking time. Mine was in for 60 mins, and it came out a little to dry for my liking. As with most other reviewers, the egg yolk and hazelnut mix was super think and gunky! Next time, I would probably mix 1/2 the nuts into the egg yolks and fold the rest into the egg whites to retain more air in my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMMOBUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and the cake turned out very good. I needed something to make for a coworker with celiac disease and tried this out as a test run. The cake was moist and tasty, too. I may be biased a bit since my mother is German and I've had cakes like this many times. I'm going to try this with a butter cream frosting (using vanilla pudding made from cornstarch) and I hope the cake will be as successful as the test run! Tips: Fold (don't stir) egg whites in gently. I didn't have any fancy tools. I used the flat spoon that came with my rice cooker. Also, don't over bake. I use a convection oven which likes to dry things out. Start checking the cake 5-10 minutes early given the long baking time. Remember - this is a European-style cake. It's not overly sweet and different in texture from a box cake. Still, it turned out to be a very nice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Absolutely delicous and easy to make! Tastes exactly like Ferraro Rocher chocolates! Add a touch of Baileys to the cream before whipping it for a great subtle and sweet flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This is a recipe I have not thought of in almost 40 years. Every year a friend of my mom-in-law would make her 2 of these beauties only she made them in tube pans and traded them for a goose that she got at the commissary. Thanks for bringing it back for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Constance Alese Singley Turner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States