Hungarian Flourless Hazelnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I loved this, others were mixed in their reviews. Most wanted the whipped cream to be sweetened with possibly some chocolate over the top. I think this is a great recipe for being gluten free, it was easy and can be played with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I loved this cake! especially because my family is hungarian. I changed some parts like I added 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder to make it chocolatey and I used 3/4 a cup of sugar because it didn't feel sweet enough. for the whipped cream I added 1/4 cup confectioners' sugar to make it a little sweet. and for the hazelnut topping I added 1 tbs of super fine sugar. I will definitely do this cake again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzy
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I made this for some friends who are gluten-free and it turned out very well. A very different type of cake... mild and very nutty both in taste and texture, but mine didn't taste 'eggy' as another reviewer said. I followed the ingredients exactly but had to change the method a bit. Beat the whites first so I didn't have to wash the bowl and beaters (just transfer the whites to another bowl). Beat the yolks and sugar VERY well and added only about a quarter of the nuts and it started to get VERY thick. I decided to fold the rest of the nuts alternating with the whites mixing as little as possible to keep the air in the cake. Even so it only rose enough for two layers. Frosted it with chocolate whipped cream. The end result was a moist nutty cake that was slightly reminiscent of ferraro rocher chocolates. Also.. based on the weight of pre-ground nuts at my health food store, the 12oz actually came out to three cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This recipe was NOT for me. Tasted like healthfood and was very bland-a non-spicey spice cake. Thought it would pack more nut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I'm on a low-carb diet so I thought this torte would be perfect as it contains no flour. Other flourless torte recipes I've seen feature lots more eggs and now I've tried to make this with just 6 I understand why. As other reviewers have mentioned, the egg yolk/hazelnut flour mixture ends up so solid that it's impossible to lightly fold in the egg whites. As the recipe does not specify which size eggs to use I have used medium but clearly this does not provide enough liquid! I could not even mix half the hazelnut flour into the egg yolks. I poured the rest into the whites and then folded these in bit by bit but was left with a dense batter which needed to be spooned rather than poured into the tin. The cake did not rise at all in the oven, so it's not really thick enough to slice into two let alone three layers. I took it out after 40 minutes because it was already as hard as a rock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I don't know how I feel about this. Mine wasn't dry, it just wasn't too flavorful. It was light, but it doesn't have that lightness in your mouth. It also is distinctly egg-y It tastes like egg-y cake. It isn't bad really, but I wouldn't rave about it. The whipped topping with frangelico was amazing though. That was the best part and that wasn't even in the original recipe. As someone who should eat flour, I thought this would be a delicious alternative. Maybe I just didn't have a good turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was really great! I didn't read comments before and overbaked it, but it was still delicious. I whipped the cream until quite hard (half way to butter?) then added a lot of amaretto and confectioner's sugar to taste and lighten. It was good yesterday, but exceptional today as the moisture of the cream (amaretto!) blended wtih the cake. Really really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Took Lyonesskim's suggestion and added 1 whole egg to the VERY stiff batter before folding in the egg whites. I used hazelnuts and drizzled with Amaretto -- delicious! I think Frangelico would heighten the hazelnut experience, while Amaretto would be better paired with an almond variation. I'll make this again and again--it is a real winner! The impressive factor is greater than the level of difficulty; my only problem was cutting into 3 layers--I managed, but the middle layer was a thing of shreds and patches. This is a recurring problem for me--any suggestions out there? Finally, I used the Stabilized Whipped Cream sent by Ethelmertz, flavored with Amaretto, and got oohs and aahs from around the table, and isn't that what baking is really all about?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JimC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This is so my mother-in-laws Nut Torte cake! She got it from her mother-in-law who was Hungarian over 50 years ago! This is also the birthday cake she makes for all of us! Sometimes it is 2 layers and other times it is 3 layers. I love this cake. She frost it with frosting that is cooked on the stove. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Absolutely amazing and easy to make. My two omas always made this cake and for that reason I always thought that it must be a complicated recipe. Now I know why they always made it, it's easy and delicious...the perfect combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States