Hungarian Flourless Hazelnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
First time that i have baked a recipe suitable for someone who is gluten free.i must say it is a winner, it is an extremely moist cake and delicious. I have only cut it into 2, and added some tinned peaches in the middle. Must try....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nims
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I loved the recipe. Instead of grinding my own hazelnuts, I got hazelnut flower which is still a little granular but easier and cheaper than buying and grinding. And I was able to get 2 layers due to the density. But I loved it!! Being gluten sensitive this is a plus+ recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
good and reminiscent of my latvian grandmothers cake, a touch dry but fixed that up with a little frangelico liquor on top. Found it to have almost too much hazelnuts when mixing but still fantastic tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Wow, delicious! I needed a flour-free cake for a birthday and this is delicious. Light and fluffy. I doubled the recipe and made two dozen cupcakes (they take a while to bake - maybe half an hour) and a small cake. Will top with whipped cream as suggested, but I also like the idea of nutella. I accidentally turned the egg whites into the egg yolks, then after realizing what I did folded in the nuts. It's very sweet and light. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: York, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
cake worked out wonderflly on my first try and yes adding the nuts in the yolk mixture makes it super thick and hard to whip with a weak mixer. My kitchenaid pro550 had no issues with this . And then I folded the egg whites a bit at a time ( thirds) with a spatula . Raised beautifully too. Will be filling it tomorrow with some nutella chocolate frosting and serving it with some chantilly cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
great recipe loved it.Some people have commented the cake is too dry & not sweet enough.Easily fixed by making a sugar syrup out of a little hot water and sugar and painting or dribbling it on the layers of cake when it is cool & cut , ready to fill.Also I whipped the cream then folded nutella through it to make a hazelnut mousse.Delicious !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
My husband made this for my birthday. It is awesome! My Hungarian father, who's 90, lives with us and is a man of very few words, complimented my husband twice on how delicious the cake is. He added an extra egg, since the batter was dry and it turned out really moist and made it with chocolate butter cream since I don't like whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I made this for a Christmas dinner. It was a lot of work and not worth the effort. Not sweet enough. I will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Too expensive for what you get. Tastes good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This cake is very good and very unusual. I used only 10 ounces of ground walnuts ,added a pinch of cream of tartar to the egg whites, and added a splash of vanilla. The thin crust is golden, chewy and slightly crisp- kind of a cross between browned merengue and the crust of angel food cake. The inside is bits of nuts suspended in an airy, slightly chewy,marshmallowy merengue. The texture is fantastic and the flavor is very nutty. I served this plain as a wholesome, protein-packed, low-sugar, snack cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States