Hungarian Braided White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
SO YUMMY, this was the first time i have ever made bread by hand and i spent my Saturday making this and enjoyed every minuet of it, it was so worth it. it tastes so good, i will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Great bread! I didn't need to bake it for nearly as long, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homemaking101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I make this every easter and sometimes for other special occasions that a beautiful, tasty bread is needed. I LOVE this bread although I do cover the pan with aluminum foil (for all but the last 15 mins) and I don't bake it for quite as long as it calls for, in order to keep it from getting quite so crunchy on the outside. This is my favorite of all the breads I make, just a little more time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This is my go to bread recipe, when I have to have a great bread that works. It tastes great and I have no problem with it ever, so I use it a lot. Love it. I also have used salt instead of poppy seeds for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SophiaBloodmoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
The bread was delicious, after reading the reviews i took the cook time down 10 minutes. and the crust came out perfect and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Beautiful bread and easy to prepare. I made this for Easter dinner and everyone loved it. I recommend this recipe. I had to take it out of the oven early so be careful not to overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
A really beautiful white bread with a tender crumb. Any chance the ingredients should read '2 egg yolks, 1 egg'? Just wondering because in the directions it says 'egg' and 'egg yolks.' My dough was still really sticky after all 5 cups of flour were in so I had to add more (1 cup or so). Could have been that the eggs I used were really large or the type of flour I used. I made 2 loaves instead of 1 and they were still a decent size. I used a shorter baking time, as so many before have recommended. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This is a great recipe. I had a little trouble with the yeast/mild. I threw out 2 batches, then used an old technique. Dissolved the yeast in 1/4 cup warm water first, then I added 1-1/2 cup warm milk. I warmed 2 tbls. honey in the microwave, added the poppy seeds and brushed it on the warm bread. OMG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This was the first bread i ever made. Turned out beautifully, i didnt use any poppy seeds, instead i used cheddar cheese. i also kneaded some cheddar into the dough. turned out wonderfully, i did shorten the bake time like another poster had suggested, otherwise i think it would have been too tough. however, if you are looking for a great bread bowl, this bread makes wonderful breadbowls. I make this bread every week now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
My family and I adore this bread. It's perfect just as the recipe is written - no insulting the chef with changes that just aren't needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sturgis, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States