Hungarian Braided White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Esalota
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Black Friday, I was still "nesting", that is what hubby calls it, I love to cook and bake and will spend hours in the kitchen, I decided to make bread and found this recipe. I haven't made bread in FOREVER, and this turned out great. Looked beautiful, and I sent a picture to my son, next thing I know he is at the door asking for dinner. Two loaves gone in a day and a half. I just didn't use the poppy seeds, not really crazy about them. Oh yeah, and the yeast I used was two years past the expiration, so I proofed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esalota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I made this bread to go with stuffed peppers from a recipe that my husbands Hungarian grandmother passed on to me. He said it was perfect and it is so easy to put together. Mine only took 25 minutes to cook. This was better the next day after being stored in a ziplock type bag with the air removed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookston, Indiana, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
My 3 year old daughter helped me make this and now all 3 kids are eating slices of nice, yummy, warm bread before bed. This is a keeper! ( also didn't have to cook it the full 45 min at the end)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
This Hungarian Braided White Bread is the best ever. Hungarian Food is the best of all. So many different things to cook. This bread is great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
really good. Braid looked pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Great. I put in 1 cup whole wheat flour for a little extra texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Love this bread! Perfect baked on my Pamper Chef baking stone that I received for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I have made this numerous times now...comes out tasting awesome everytime and I don't change a thing. Which is unusual for me to follow something right on...Great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Newton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
The reviews make me try this one, great, just watch the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is the first time I ever tried to make bread. I chose something of my ancestry and it came out perfectly! It was delicious and looked like a pro had made it! Ha ha! Easy and great tasting. No editing at all- followed the recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States