Hungarian Braided White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
This was the first time I made bread without using my breadmaker....and it was very good. It looked very "fresh from the bakery"...my whole family loved it. I didn't bake it nearly as long as suggested...it turned golden brown very quickly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
GREAT recipe! Most excellent flavor. Looks too pretty to slice into! I brushed 2 tablespoons of soft butter all over the top(s) as soon as the loaf(s) came out of the oven. Since the basics of kneading, rising and braiding are not included; I would suggest the novice baker do a little research on these three fundamental elements of baking bread, before tackling this recipe. I know the rest of us will include this delicious bread in our favorites file. Thanks so much for sharing. Peccavi P.S. Don't forget to lightly grease your cookie sheet before placing your braided dough on it for the last "rise". Anyone that's stumped trying to braid a four strand, see my Profile for my email address. I'll send step-by-step instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Köln, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
This Hungarian Braided White Bread is the best ever. Hungarian Food is the best of all. So many different things to cook. This bread is great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
This bread was good but I would suggest to reduce the baking time,the crust got a little bit hard. I recommend it for special occasions, it looks great on the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
This was a great suprise for my Hungarian husband. The kids enjoyed helping me make this, and we all enjoyed eating it. Very easy to get a nice texture from this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STARRCHILDE
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This was a fantastic recipe - yielding a very yummy bread. I added vanilla to give it more flavor and liberally sprinkled on poppy seeds as my family loves them. The bread was a bit doner than I like at 30 minutes, I would suggest checking after 25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I made this only without the poppy seeds. It was a very nice looking loaf, and turned out to be much, much larger than I had expected (this makes a good sized loaf). If I made this again I would defnitely half the recipe. This was good right out of the oven, but the leftovers did not fare so well; it took on a very chewy, tough texture the next day, and I had to throw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is the first time I ever tried to make bread. I chose something of my ancestry and it came out perfectly! It was delicious and looked like a pro had made it! Ha ha! Easy and great tasting. No editing at all- followed the recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I have made this numerous times now...comes out tasting awesome everytime and I don't change a thing. Which is unusual for me to follow something right on...Great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Newton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SicilianKitchenWitch
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This makes a very big loaf of bread that is light and delicious. I find it does best baked on a stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SicilianKitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States