Hungarian Braided White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is the first time I ever tried to make bread. I chose something of my ancestry and it came out perfectly! It was delicious and looked like a pro had made it! Ha ha! Easy and great tasting. No editing at all- followed the recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
The reviews make me try this one, great, just watch the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I have made this numerous times now...comes out tasting awesome everytime and I don't change a thing. Which is unusual for me to follow something right on...Great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Newton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Love this bread! Perfect baked on my Pamper Chef baking stone that I received for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Great. I put in 1 cup whole wheat flour for a little extra texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
really good. Braid looked pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I made this only without the poppy seeds. It was a very nice looking loaf, and turned out to be much, much larger than I had expected (this makes a good sized loaf). If I made this again I would defnitely half the recipe. This was good right out of the oven, but the leftovers did not fare so well; it took on a very chewy, tough texture the next day, and I had to throw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Someone rated this before me and suggested that a first timer not attempt this. They were correct! This was just a bit too complicated for me. I had to rate it so i could review it but I couldn't proplerly give it credit due to the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STARRCHILDE
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This was a fantastic recipe - yielding a very yummy bread. I added vanilla to give it more flavor and liberally sprinkled on poppy seeds as my family loves them. The bread was a bit doner than I like at 30 minutes, I would suggest checking after 25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
GREAT recipe! Most excellent flavor. Looks too pretty to slice into! I brushed 2 tablespoons of soft butter all over the top(s) as soon as the loaf(s) came out of the oven. Since the basics of kneading, rising and braiding are not included; I would suggest the novice baker do a little research on these three fundamental elements of baking bread, before tackling this recipe. I know the rest of us will include this delicious bread in our favorites file. Thanks so much for sharing. Peccavi P.S. Don't forget to lightly grease your cookie sheet before placing your braided dough on it for the last "rise". Anyone that's stumped trying to braid a four strand, see my Profile for my email address. I'll send step-by-step instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Köln, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States