Hungarian Braided White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
My family and I adore this bread. It's perfect just as the recipe is written - no insulting the chef with changes that just aren't needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sturgis, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SicilianKitchenWitch
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This makes a very big loaf of bread that is light and delicious. I find it does best baked on a stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SicilianKitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Loved it! This was so easy to make, and I'm not a bread baker typically. I don't like poppy seeds so I just glazed with the egg and it's a beautiful delicious loaf. It did take a bit more than 5c. flour though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Very good - the presentation is what really makes this bread a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Oh lord I love this bread!!! This was my first time making a yeast bread and when it first came out of the oven the crust was a little too crunchy for me. My mom, who works in a bakery, gave me an amazing tip though, if you wrap the bread up in plastic wrap nice and tight and let it sit over night, the crust softens up for you!!! I'm eating it as I right this and the crust is Perfect! I can't believe it actually worked on the first try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trittenlj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
First time making a braided bread, and I was pleased with the results. Nice crust with a soft and chewy inside. Like many of the reviewers, I only baked it about 25 minutes....any longer would have ended up inedible in my opinion. I was surprised that this turned out so well, as I had a heck of a time getting my milk/yeast to get that creamy, foamy look.....in fact, it never did! I tossed out two batches of warm milk and yeast before giving up and just using my third batch. Bread rose just fine. I'm new to bread making, so maybe I just need more experience under my belt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megannsmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
My 3 year old daughter helped me make this and now all 3 kids are eating slices of nice, yummy, warm bread before bed. This is a keeper! ( also didn't have to cook it the full 45 min at the end)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Esalota
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Black Friday, I was still "nesting", that is what hubby calls it, I love to cook and bake and will spend hours in the kitchen, I decided to make bread and found this recipe. I haven't made bread in FOREVER, and this turned out great. Looked beautiful, and I sent a picture to my son, next thing I know he is at the door asking for dinner. Two loaves gone in a day and a half. I just didn't use the poppy seeds, not really crazy about them. Oh yeah, and the yeast I used was two years past the expiration, so I proofed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esalota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I made this bread to go with stuffed peppers from a recipe that my husbands Hungarian grandmother passed on to me. He said it was perfect and it is so easy to put together. Mine only took 25 minutes to cook. This was better the next day after being stored in a ziplock type bag with the air removed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookston, Indiana, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is the first time I ever tried to make bread. I chose something of my ancestry and it came out perfectly! It was delicious and looked like a pro had made it! Ha ha! Easy and great tasting. No editing at all- followed the recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States