Hungarian Beigli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I make a similar recipe a few times every year. One tip for those who would like to simplify, you don't have to stick with walnut filling (or even make it from scratch). You can use any pie filling available in a can. I've used Triple Berry, Apple, and several others. I prefer poppy seed filling, but due to drug tests, I stay away from that for people. Also bakers, make sure you check the date of the yeast you are baking with. If it's expired, it won't rise. Also, it's usually better to "proof" the yeast before adding it to a recipe which will "prove" that it's a good yeast batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krisztina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
very tasty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I don't even have to make this to know that it is scrumptous. My neighbors mother is Romanian and she makes these all the time. She always send my family a few slices. I am leaving germany soon so I decided to hunt the recipe down myself. I can't wait to try and make it on my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is exactly what I was looking for! Absolutely delicious, just like I used to eat in Hungary growing up. Now, it's my turn to pass this heavenly tradition on to my boys. My only problem was that it cracked during baking, but it tasted so good no one seemed to care. Note to a previous reviewer, this dough does not rise, it rests. If you are looking for something that rises, it's probably a kalacs or a nut roll. Hope that helps. Boldog Karacsonyt and thank you for this woderful recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsuzsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiszaujvaros, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Hungary
Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Just like Mom used to make (almost)! Some things to keep in mind, make sure the loaf is sealed (or the filling spills out) and make sure the dough isn't rolled too thinly. The taste is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Just like mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellensburg, Washington, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitkatJohn
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
In Polish, this is Strucla z makiem i orzechami wloskimi: Diós-mákos beigli in Hungarian. This is just like my Polish Grandmother makes. She would sprinkle some poppy seeds on the top and her's were always in baked in a circular pan. She calls them Kolocz or Kolacz, but I've heard them called Poteca, or Strucla orzechowa (strusel with nuts) or Strucla z wloskimi (walnuts). Other variations are strucla z migdalowa (almonds), makowiec or makownik or strucla z makiem (with poppy seeds). This was a hit at my Christmas party this year! Yummm! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ko%C5%82acz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitkatJohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Awesome it was a hit with my family from Hungary. They are from Budapest so that will tell you how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
The flavor is really good but not quite as I remember my Grandma making...hence only 4 stars. My dough split open but still turned out tasty. Very good recipe just maybe not exactly what I was looking for to recreate the taste from my past. Still Very nice thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This recipe made a lovely coffee cake, similar to one of my family recipes. FYI - This traditional pastry would be called a "kolac" - more like a coffee cake. Beigli is a traditional pastry made with yeast dough that is rolled up like a jelly roll with a mixture of sugar, egg white and ground walnuts or poppy seeds. I haven't seen any recipes on this site for beigli and may post my family's secret recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROCKMYWORLD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States