Hungarian Beigli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is the real deal. Having eaten a lot of beigli, including in Hungary, I decided to make my own. This was the recipe I decided to try based on several others I saw. All beigli recipes are subtly different: for example, some use ordinary flour whereas this one uses self-rising flour. So it is best to follow this recipe as close as you can - allowing for the inevitable things that don't quite work out. Some hints and tips I found useful. The recipe calls for the sugar and milk to be at "a syrupy consistency". I wasn't quite sure what that meant but found it occurred after about 10 minutes of warming/boiling the mixture. This probably a bit long as the mixture when cooled became quite stiff and hard to work. It tasted delicious mind you but beware not to leave the mixture too long to cool. If it does, try flattening it with a rolling pin. The sour cream where I live is quite thick - unlike the more liquid type found in Hungary. A bit of water, or milk, helps loosen the sour cream. Amount of dough is definitely just right for three rolls - no more no less. Cooking time was a bit less than above - closer to 25 minutes. Do allow plenty of time, especially the first time. It probably took me closer to 4-5 hours start to finish, including preparation. The rolls splitting while cooking is by far the biggest 'danger', so take care with the dough and getting the right thickness. But this a delicious, authentic beigli. Follow the recipe and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This recipe made a lovely coffee cake, similar to one of my family recipes. FYI - This traditional pastry would be called a "kolac" - more like a coffee cake. Beigli is a traditional pastry made with yeast dough that is rolled up like a jelly roll with a mixture of sugar, egg white and ground walnuts or poppy seeds. I haven't seen any recipes on this site for beigli and may post my family's secret recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROCKMYWORLD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Awesome it was a hit with my family from Hungary. They are from Budapest so that will tell you how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is exactly what I was looking for! Absolutely delicious, just like I used to eat in Hungary growing up. Now, it's my turn to pass this heavenly tradition on to my boys. My only problem was that it cracked during baking, but it tasted so good no one seemed to care. Note to a previous reviewer, this dough does not rise, it rests. If you are looking for something that rises, it's probably a kalacs or a nut roll. Hope that helps. Boldog Karacsonyt and thank you for this woderful recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsuzsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiszaujvaros, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Hungary
Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I make a similar recipe a few times every year. One tip for those who would like to simplify, you don't have to stick with walnut filling (or even make it from scratch). You can use any pie filling available in a can. I've used Triple Berry, Apple, and several others. I prefer poppy seed filling, but due to drug tests, I stay away from that for people. Also bakers, make sure you check the date of the yeast you are baking with. If it's expired, it won't rise. Also, it's usually better to "proof" the yeast before adding it to a recipe which will "prove" that it's a good yeast batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krisztina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
The flavor is really good but not quite as I remember my Grandma making...hence only 4 stars. My dough split open but still turned out tasty. Very good recipe just maybe not exactly what I was looking for to recreate the taste from my past. Still Very nice thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I don't even have to make this to know that it is scrumptous. My neighbors mother is Romanian and she makes these all the time. She always send my family a few slices. I am leaving germany soon so I decided to hunt the recipe down myself. I can't wait to try and make it on my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I was so excited about trying out this recipe when I saw the beautiful pictures and great review. I followed the recipe to the T, using all fresh ingredients. I believe the main problem was the dough--mine did not rise AT ALL after sitting for over 2.5 hours! The filling came out to be too watery and I had to drain access liquid before I used it. So, I ended up with 3 tiny loaves that didn't rise in size even when baked, and they had waaaaay too many nuts inside (because of the proportion). Very, very dissappointing!!! By the way, it took a lot longer than 30 minutes to prepare it--it was well over an hour, not counting the clean-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
The recipe that has been passed down in our family is different in a number of ways, some being we only use walnuts, don't use sour cream, use 2 whole eggs. Another way is that my Grandma would mix powdered sugar with the ground walnuts. My mother changed that part and mixes maple syrup in with the ground walnuts. I sometimes do both or just use maple syrup and we do not roll the dough out so thin and don't have as many rolls. The upside to that is that I have never had any problems with the rolling of the dough and so forth. We only make it for Christmas and Pascha (Easter). It is nice to see so many other people with the same tradition of Potica.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
very tasty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States