Hungarian Beigli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is exactly what I was looking for! Absolutely delicious, just like I used to eat in Hungary growing up. Now, it's my turn to pass this heavenly tradition on to my boys. My only problem was that it cracked during baking, but it tasted so good no one seemed to care. Note to a previous reviewer, this dough does not rise, it rests. If you are looking for something that rises, it's probably a kalacs or a nut roll. Hope that helps. Boldog Karacsonyt and thank you for this woderful recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsuzsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiszaujvaros, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Hungary
Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Just like mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellensburg, Washington, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Just like Mom used to make (almost)! Some things to keep in mind, make sure the loaf is sealed (or the filling spills out) and make sure the dough isn't rolled too thinly. The taste is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I make a similar recipe a few times every year. One tip for those who would like to simplify, you don't have to stick with walnut filling (or even make it from scratch). You can use any pie filling available in a can. I've used Triple Berry, Apple, and several others. I prefer poppy seed filling, but due to drug tests, I stay away from that for people. Also bakers, make sure you check the date of the yeast you are baking with. If it's expired, it won't rise. Also, it's usually better to "proof" the yeast before adding it to a recipe which will "prove" that it's a good yeast batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krisztina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
very tasty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitkatJohn
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
In Polish, this is Strucla z makiem i orzechami wloskimi: Diós-mákos beigli in Hungarian. This is just like my Polish Grandmother makes. She would sprinkle some poppy seeds on the top and her's were always in baked in a circular pan. She calls them Kolocz or Kolacz, but I've heard them called Poteca, or Strucla orzechowa (strusel with nuts) or Strucla z wloskimi (walnuts). Other variations are strucla z migdalowa (almonds), makowiec or makownik or strucla z makiem (with poppy seeds). This was a hit at my Christmas party this year! Yummm! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ko%C5%82acz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitkatJohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is the real deal. Having eaten a lot of beigli, including in Hungary, I decided to make my own. This was the recipe I decided to try based on several others I saw. All beigli recipes are subtly different: for example, some use ordinary flour whereas this one uses self-rising flour. So it is best to follow this recipe as close as you can - allowing for the inevitable things that don't quite work out. Some hints and tips I found useful. The recipe calls for the sugar and milk to be at "a syrupy consistency". I wasn't quite sure what that meant but found it occurred after about 10 minutes of warming/boiling the mixture. This probably a bit long as the mixture when cooled became quite stiff and hard to work. It tasted delicious mind you but beware not to leave the mixture too long to cool. If it does, try flattening it with a rolling pin. The sour cream where I live is quite thick - unlike the more liquid type found in Hungary. A bit of water, or milk, helps loosen the sour cream. Amount of dough is definitely just right for three rolls - no more no less. Cooking time was a bit less than above - closer to 25 minutes. Do allow plenty of time, especially the first time. It probably took me closer to 4-5 hours start to finish, including preparation. The rolls splitting while cooking is by far the biggest 'danger', so take care with the dough and getting the right thickness. But this a delicious, authentic beigli. Follow the recipe and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Awesome it was a hit with my family from Hungary. They are from Budapest so that will tell you how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I don't even have to make this to know that it is scrumptous. My neighbors mother is Romanian and she makes these all the time. She always send my family a few slices. I am leaving germany soon so I decided to hunt the recipe down myself. I can't wait to try and make it on my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzanna Fabry
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
It was very good. One question for the crowd: my beigli always splits at the top. Anybody have suggestions for preventing this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanna Fabry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States