Hummus III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I personally love hummus. My hubby had thought hummus was just okay... UNTIL I made THIS RECIPE! The entire batch I made was consumed within 24 hours (mostly by him!)! I believe that says a lot. I doubled the garlic, added a bit of water (I found recipe to be too thick). Drizzling olive oil, parsley, and paprika on top? Well, that just makes for the perfect touch at serving. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Off I go to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I added cumin and crushed red pepper... I also added the olive oil in the bean mixture before blending.... Nice recipe.. Will making again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I enjoyed this recipe. Like many other reviewers, I adjusted it to suit my taste. For me that meant less tahini, less lemon juice, less salt, more chickpea juice, and a (small) roasted red chili. The result was nice. I'll take another reviewer's suggestion and freeze most of it in single-serving packets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I agree with 2 cans of beans, at least another clove of garlic, thinning this a bit, but I do love this recipe. All changes obviously suit our individual tastes but for heavens sake, if you are making this wonderful dish you can easily make the tahini and save a ton of cash. Tahini is nothing more than 3-4 C toasted sesame seeds and 1/4 to 1/2 C olive oil mixed in a VitaMix or your processor adjusted to your taste! It'll last a month or so in your fridge. It's worth the price of toasted seeds from MySpiceSage.com or from your favorite spice vendor. If you want to toast them yourself, you can buy them raw and have a ball. You can prep your tahini to the consistency of any nut butter or thinner as you wish. Although I don't prep my own beans for this, I still like controlling the ingredients of this dish. I try to avoid canned food so I expect I will also be prepping from dried beans soon and avoid the canned chemicals. I can't say enough about this wonderful, easily prepared, dish. You can start from scratch and make a whole lot more for a whole lot less! I don't eat snacks but I will make an exception for this. It's great with raw vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Yum! We'll never buy this in the store again. This was the best--like restaurants serve. We added a green onion to the mix and put the parsley in the food processor as well. We also added a little water to make it creamier. Fantastic with pita bread that's coated in olive oil, topped with a sprinkle of salt and Italian spices, and toasted in the oven for about 6 minutes on 400. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Perfection! I absolutely love the flavor of this simple hummus! The only thing I changed was adding a bit of water so my older blender could manage everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Goldendale, Washington, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was very good. I made half using half the ingredients with the exception of garlic I stuck with 2 cloves of garlic. The family loved it. We had no left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I have limited experience with hummus both with eating it and with making my own. I’m not sure if there’s a particular way it’s SUPPOSED to taste. What I do know, however, is that it contains just a few fundamental ingredients, but even something so simple can be ruined with too much or too little of this or that. I added slightly less than a half teaspoon of cumin, some reserved liquid from the beans to thin it out some, and a drizzle of olive oil (as well as an additional drizzle to finish). For my palate, this was some pretty good hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
not good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Best hummus recipe! I like to add extra lemon juice for more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States