Hummus III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I make this recipe when I have guests over all the time and I always here how great it is and the bowl is left clean! I won't ever buy store brand. Its inexpensive to make from home (only thing that is pricey is the Tahini, but one can lasts 5 hummus) so definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This is such a simple but tasty and healthy recipe. My kids (triplets!) especially love it. I buy the tahini (the kind I buy at the grocery store) and have to stir it quite a while to get the oil well mixed. It's easy to double. I also adjust the amount of juice and salt according to taste. Sometimes I'll add more seasoning for the one son who likes it spicier, as the original recipe is pretty tame. I'll ask jalapeno (seeded) along with a hot sauce. It's easy and lasts only as long as the kids and I take to spread it on a variety of crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
As others have noted, great basic recipe. Tweak it as you like, I used three 15 oz cans garbanzo, two heaping teaspoons of Chinese chile paste, tahini, lemon, olive oil, omitted parsley. Next time I will use canned chipotle peppers or canned jalapeno peppers as I like my hummus with kick. Cost co was selling hummus and it was so expensive. This cost about $2.00 for 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This is the BEST hummus I've ever had....restaurants, see ya later! I'm a lemon fiend so I added extra juice when I was done but I just can't recommend this recipe highly enough! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This recipe is the best I've found. I followed the advice of HESANTONE review and added the liquid from one can, more garlic and the red pepper flakes. I also added a couple tablespoons of feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chica Chica Chickpea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Excellent base. I followed the most helpful review and adjusted to taste. I also "pealed" the chickpeas before putting together. A little more work but this beats store bought by a mile! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
After making this recipe once, this time I used about 1/3 cup olive oil instead of what it calls for. Alot creamier and simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leamington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Very good basic recipe which can be modified to suit your personal taste. Proportions are very good, except for garlic which was stronger than "basic" hummus needs to be. Gone in a flash in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I loved it, but thought it had a little too much lemon. Next time, I'm going to add lemon to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very good base recipe, will make again. Gave 4 stars because I thought this was a bit salty, next time will decrease by half at least. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States