Hummus III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Really easy to make. Will not buy store bought hummus again. You can really add anything you like to liven it up a bit. I add sundried tomatoes, green olives, garlic and some cayenne pepper. Reading the reviews before making really helps to enhance this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I think if tweaked this is a great hummus recipe. So great to know exactly what's going in it. I listened to others and added a little cumin and cayenne for flavor/heat. I felt there was too much tahini so I had to add more lemon to balance it. Also, I was out of garbanzo and substituted canellini beans with no flavor/texture difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMHMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Will never buy hummus again! 1st - cook the beans in water and 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda for 30 minutes to 45 min. 2nd I cut the tahini in half, added 1/2 teaspoon cumin and sea salt, roasted the garlic. Took out half the hummus then added roasted red pepper and crushed red pepper. 2 flavors, 1 recipe. As I am typing this my daughter has polished off half the red pepper!!!! TRIPLE THE RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Great recipe. It works great if you follow it exactly or even if you're a little short on tahini. I use powdered garlic 1/4 t instead of a clove of garlic. packs better in my daughters' lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Delicious! I used less lemon as suggested(about half a lemon), and I added extra garlic (2 more cloves) since that's a preference in this household. 3 TBSP tahini was the perfect amount. I also added 2 - 3 tsp of cumin. I omitted the salt, parsley, and paprika.. but I added cayenne pepper at the end for a little extra flavor. It turned out very balanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This was very good. I reduced the recipe by 1/4 bc my can of been only supplied 1.5c of drained beans. I did save some of the juice from the beans so the hummus woundn'tbe so dry and I added 3/4 of cummin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Love this! It has become a weekly staple. Edit: Usually I use minced garlic from a jar but this time I used fresh and two cloves was a bit overwhelming. in future if I use fresh I will only use one clove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I don't know what all the hub bub is about this recipe! I thought it was amazing as is! IT is DELISH! Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Very good! I found a 15.5 oz can is about a cup and a half so by increasing the servings to 24 let's me use two whole cans of chickpeas. I also like having even more hummus! I used bottled lemon juice and it was a bit much next time I will reduce the quantity or use fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Great! Good lemon and garlic flavor. I'd like to try other flavors, as well. Used the advice of reviewer SonjaL and blended it in my mini food processer. One can of chickpeas is about 1.5 cups. I stuck with just paprika and took this to a class party. We liked it and I enjoyed that it is healthy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States