Hummus III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I followed the advice in the reviews to customize it to my taste and it turned out great. Basically less tahini and lemon juice, and added the reserved chick pea juice to thin it. I didn't add any salt since there was salt in the reserved juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
When I made this recipe, I only used a dash of salt & it tasted great. Looking at the recipe, I thought 1 teaspoon was too much salt and not needed (I made this recipe to avoid the sodium that most store bought hummus contain). Other than cutting way back on the salt, this is a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Wow, this is a keeper! I did take the advice of other reviewers and used 3 tblps of tahini and it was great! I didn't need more than that really. I also used two large cloves of garlic and added half teaspoon cumin. It was delicious! I realized that good olive oil makes this dish as well, so that's important to keep in mind! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ruffinit
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
So rich and creamy! As others said, the Garbanzo juice is essential in smoothing out (or water). Far better and cheaper than buying pre-made/restaurant versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
We love this! I only drain 1/2 the water off the garbanzos, and only use about 1 Tbs. lemon juice. Wiz in my NutriBullet till smooth. Easy and perfect for our tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Very easy basic recipe for hummus. Great for adapting to your own tastes. Tried halving the tahini at first, but then I found that it was too lemony, and the tahini cuts that perfectly. Still, used 3/4 of recommended amount. Added red bell pepper (1/2 a pepper minced) and tripled the garlic to get it where I wanted it. Will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This is my first shot at making hummus. I've never really liked hummus because my mom used to buy the premade stuff in a plastic container and it never tasted very good. Then the other day I went to an Iranian restaurant with a friend and she wanted hummus so we ordered it. It was delicious and I couldn't get enough of it, so I decided to try and make my own. This was pretty good, but very dry. I ended up adding a lot of water (a full cup and a half) to get it to the consistency I liked, and it tasted a bit too lemony, but I just need to fine-tune it. All in all this is fantastic. Even my husband and kids liked it, so it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Better then anything you'll find in the store. Just make sure to use a food processor not a blender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsey
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
A little dry and thick for me. Added a bit of olive oil into the blender as well. Didn't de-shell the chickpeas but will next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Next time I will decrease the salt, I find it salty for me. But other than that it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States