Hummus III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Everyone loved this at my daughter's birthday party. Should have made a double batch! I followed the directions precisely EXCEPT I just used two cans of chickpeas and reserved the liquid to add some back in as it blended in my vitamix. Used about half of one of the cans of liquid - the new can of tahini was s little runnier than usual. Next time I may throw in an extra garlic clove depending on how big the cloves are. Really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by klvb73
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I've made this several times now, it's a huge hit. you'll never buy pre packaged again. With my changes it's close to Beirut Restaurant's in Detroit. (http://beirutrestaurant.net/index.html) The only three adjustments. 1. Don't discard your juices from your beans, adding some of it will give you the right consistency. 2. I suggest is to cut back on your Tahini by half to start. Add a little more to adjust to taste. 3. Always use fresh lemons for your juice, it makes a total difference !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I've tried this recipe a couple of times and after following the recipe as written, I usually end up adding or increasing ingredients to perfect it. This is a good base however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This is awesome recipe. When I don't have tahini, I use peanut butter, and it works too. It becomes a bit of peanut butter flavor, but that doesn't mean less delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
first time making hummus, we buy ours from a Lebanese/Mediterranean Restaurant nearby and this is just as good! made with 2tbsp tahini (sesame seed butter) and a little too much garlic, I went crazy but will roast some for my next batch so it's more mellow. this is going to be my go to! can't wait to try it with a handful of Kalamata olives, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCTHOMPSON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Camille
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Very good ... Had to add more lemon juice due to the food processor. Will def use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Yummy! Definitely needed to add some of the garbanzo beans juice too thin the hummus a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
So good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Omg, why on earth didn't I make my own hummus sooner! This is healthier with more fiber and protein than store bought and I can tweak it. Cut the lemon down to an 1/8 cup, skip the paprika, cut the tahini to 1/4 cup and add a teaspoon of turmeric, 2 teaspoons of red pepper and triple the garlic (if you like garlic). It's easier and cheaper to make your own tahini. Just buy sesame seeds and bake them for 10 min at 350 degrees, then blend them with olive oil (enough to moisten the seeds and make them into a paste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Schmidt Kassoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I have tried a lot of hummus recipes and this one is simple and wonderful! No need to keep trying hummus recipes, this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States