Hummus I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
Hummus without olive oil or cumin? Nope, doesn't work. Add up to 1/4 cup of olive oil and 1/2 tsp of cumin to this recipe, and I'll change my rating to 5 stars. Adding water to this recipe is not "optional" either. About 1/4 cup will be right. Don't add in the "reserved" bean juice. Drain and rinse those beans to get rid of the extra sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
This is a very good recipe. I've substituted lime juice for the lemon juice--not as good. I've left out the tahini--not as good. I've served it the same day as making it--not as good. This is excellent & best served after 1-2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
This recipe is the BEST to date! I made a batch up, and we ate it for lunches for a week. Spread it on a toasted pita bread, dip tortilla chips or carrot sticks in it. Any way, it is just divine. It is packed with nutrition too! My two year old daughter LOVES it (and she's the pickiest eater I know). I love being able to add what I like to it. A little lemon juice and garlic makes it delicious! Great recipe, very easy, very kid-friendly. We give it two tummies up!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Excellent! I made this for Thanksgiving as part of a veggie dish and it was devoured. For an added twist, try one batch with ground kalamata olives, or another with eggplant (babaganoush). This is a great base recipe as is and gives you some room to add things to your liking knowing it'll still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2000
I made this hummus for a kid's b-day party and everybody loved it!!! I made it using a hand chopper leaving it rather chunky and much more flavorful than other creamier recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Great and simple! I agree with the advice to save some of the bean "juice" to help thin the hummus a bit. I also add a bit of olive oil, some tabasco sauce, about 1/4-1/2 tsp of cumin and crushed red peppers, and maybe a bit more lemon juice. This recipe is MUCH better after at least 24-48 hours of time to "meld" in the fridge. Be careful with the red peppers and the tobasco--it may not taste spicy enough right away, but after 24-48 hours, the spices will definitely be noticed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2000
I like to throw in a little fresh, finely chopped garlic to add a bit of a kick, and to promote healthy arteries (raw garlic sucks excess fat out of the bloodstream!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
This is such a great hummus recipe! It could use a bit more garlic and lemon juice than suggested, but it's one of the best I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
This is a very basic recipe. I was looking for something a little more spicy and exotic. It's not bad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
Very easy, very good. This is a great snack for children. I left the bowl of hummus on the counter for a few minutes, and my finicky 5 year old ate half the contents of the bowl before I realized it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States