Hummus I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Good basic hummus. I do agree that some olive oil is required, though. I used cilantro in mine instead of the parsley, and the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I omitted the green onion and parsley, but I thought this was great! What a great base recipe to add things to. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Excellent but I would suggest adding 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil, and also a bit of water to enhance the flavor and make it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Excellent! I made this for Thanksgiving as part of a veggie dish and it was devoured. For an added twist, try one batch with ground kalamata olives, or another with eggplant (babaganoush). This is a great base recipe as is and gives you some room to add things to your liking knowing it'll still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
This recipe is a great start, but hummus really requires a good dose of olive oil to make it smoother. I used a lot more lemon juice and tripled the garlic because I like a really garlicky flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
this was okay - i don't know if i would make again. it seemed like it was missing something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Yummy! I used a little olive oil to thin it instead of the recommended water. It has a nice nutty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
Pretty bland unless you add a LOT more lemon than it calls for. I also added the juice of one lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
The first time I made it I halved the recipe and it turned out nicely. THis time I made all of it, and it's too lemony. Also I burnt out my blender motor :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
Hummus without olive oil or cumin? Nope, doesn't work. Add up to 1/4 cup of olive oil and 1/2 tsp of cumin to this recipe, and I'll change my rating to 5 stars. Adding water to this recipe is not "optional" either. About 1/4 cup will be right. Don't add in the "reserved" bean juice. Drain and rinse those beans to get rid of the extra sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States