Hummus I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Hummus without olive oil qualifies for a lenten style spread and this is a good recipe. I would double the amount of garlic as I prefer my hummus a bit "hotter". Ditto for the lemon juice. Bottomline: this qualifies for a "build/taste as you go" type recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Best hummus I've ever tried! I did take another reviewers advice and add 1/4 cup olive oil and 1/2 tsp cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
It was good! I added onions and green peppers for extra flavor... It was a little too liquid but I'm letting it set in the refrigerator for one day and see if it gets better. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This recipe was 'OK'. Good start but did need some major adjustments. I began with the recipe originally written, did the taste test & had to adjust from there. To start- when draining the beans, RESERVE the liquid & set aside. Do NOT add WATER! Instead, add the reserved liquid as needed until desired consistency is acquired. Water will do nothing for flavor! Skipped lemon zest- found it pointless. Used minced garlic out of a jar instead of cloves, & I can say I used about 1.5 Tbsp. so I'm not sure 2 cloves would be enough (depending on size). Parsley & green onion I added less of. Too much green was not doing much for a real hummus flavor & no good for aesthetic appeal. Also agree w/ other reviewers- NO olive oil or cumin?! Necessity for a true hummus! HAD to add about 1/3 Tbsp. of cumin & at least 1.5-2 Tbsp. of olive oil. Did need the salt & pepper, to really bring the flavor out. But I suggest starting w/ the recipe as originally written, doing the taste test, then adding more of each ingredient as needed until the desired flavor is acquired. Really did find myself having to add more of almost all the flavoring ingredients as hubby & myself were doing the taste test along the process. I still question why green onion or parsley should be included. Added onion powder to taste & that was perfect, without the parsley. Parsley would only be good as a 'garnish'. Good base- but really needs adjusting + the olive oil & cumin! Thanks for a good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelinamarie3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
We eat hummus all the time at my house. I add about 1/2-1/3 cup of evoo, no onion or parsley or pepper. Sometimes I'll throw a roasted red pepper into the food processor to have roasted red pepper hummus once in a while. My husband is Lebanese and really likes my hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I gave this a 4 because I modified it based on another reviewer's comments. I also added 1/2 tsp cumin and 1/4 cup olive oil. Next time I'll also add a little water. It made the consistency less thick and easy to spread. It is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Since I tried this recipe, I have made it several times. My faminly insists on having this available for a snack. I had trouble finding the tahini...(it was with orential food) Thank you to the other reviews for describing it, so I knew what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenifer Brammer
Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Love this hummus! I've made it with and without the tahini and it was good either way. I never use the parsley or lemon zest. Also I add olive oil like a lot of other reviewers suggested...maybe 1/4 cup. I crave this version of hummus over the stuff at my favorite Greek restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
The best. Can't stand cumin and low calorie without the olive oil. I did add 1/4 cup plain greek yougurt (for extra creamy texture) and roasted garlic for some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Great base recipe. Used it to make my own changes so I knew the right proportions to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States