Hummus Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Really nice! It would be great for a salad/appetizer style party. I used about 1.75 lbs ground turkey and added a few garlic cloves to the onions. The allspice is great but definitely needs more - and that's after I added extra from the start! Pine nuts toast very nicely on the stove with no oil (they release their own natural oil). I made my own hummus and only used about 1.5 cups. Layered: hummus, pita, meat, pita, hummus, meat, pine nuts, parsley, paprika, lemon juice. Refrigerate leftovers and heat them up the next day - tastes just as good if not better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe. I followed the directions, except I added some garlic and cumin to the ground beef. I also toasted the pita breads into small chips or croutons. I served this with the Arab lentil and rice dish called "Mujadarrah", also from this website. Great combination! I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I used the Spicy Chipotle Hummus recipe on this site, I used the bottom of the bag Tortilla chips instead of Pita Bread, and I used Cilantro instead of Parsley. It gave this recipe a real Southwestern flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIE FREITAG
Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This is so healthy, fresh and delicious! I have made this numerous times now and my husband loves it. I have made it both with ground beef and ground lamb - both are great. I triple the allspice every time. Depending on what I have, I make it into a sort of salad - just put a torn pita on each plate, top with hummus, then the meat, then either shredded romaine or halved cherry tomatoes (or both), then sliced red onion, then parsley. Salt, pepper, paprika, lemon juice. SO good! The pine nuts are tasty as well, but I feel like you can easily skip them if you don't have them to hand. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This just sounded weird to me (and I'm pretty adventurous when it comes to food). It turned out to be REALLY GOOD and quick/easy!!! Will probably make this at least 3-4 times per month. I left out the pine nuts because I didn't have any. I will make sure I have them next time because it will make the dish even better!! I agree with the person who said the allspice isn't very noticeable - it was very subtle, but I think I would have been missing something in flavor if I left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Another great recipe, very authentic, thanks. I like to put ground beef on top of mine, so I cooked it that way. Also, make sure to have chopped onions or green onions on hand to chomp on with every bite of the casserole. Also, have halved lemons ready, some people prefer to squirt lemon on their own plate. I love adding more lemon on mine. Thanks! Just like my moms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Wow, hummus casserole is exceptional. I wouldn't have guessed as casserole could be this refreshing. Most are so heavy. Nice, summer like flavors that meld well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Distinctively different, and will make again. This review based on optional ingredients being included. While we enjoyed eating it as instructed, we liked it even better when briefly heated-up before serving. The amount of pita bread seemed a bit overpowering (a bit to dry) but was fine when served warm. The hummus spread will make or break this recipe. I don’t think this recipe will come out w/ a higher rating that what you assign to your hummus spread if tasted alone as torn pita bread and pine nuts won’t pull-up the rating. I choose “Smokey Chipotle Hummus” from this site, and it was great when coupled w/ this recipe. Had a store bought hummus been used, this probably would have been rated a 2 or 3. Thanks IMANKAY for a versatile recipe that can be changed-up by using different hummus spreads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very unexpected. I didn't realize this was a room temperature casserole (didn't know they existed), but I did enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Insomniac Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I halved the recipe and omitted the meat. I had to use sunflower seeds instead of pine nuts, but they still added a nice crunch and good flavor. This "casserole" (it's hard to call it that when it doesn't bake) went over quite well at a party, but I was pleased to discover that the leftovers were even tastier after a couple days in the fridge, and (for you this may be a positive or a negative) the pitas became quite soft after a day or two. Great snack! Definitely add plenty of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Insomniac Baker

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States