Hummus Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Monica
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Couldn't have turned out any better. I doubled the allspice like others suggested and added garlic. Delicious. Will make this again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
For me and my family, this worked out better as a dip with pita chips. It didn't taste very good as a dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I make my own hummus and have been looking for a recipe to incorporate hummus into, well this is it. Making it more Middle Eastern, I use ground lamb, sauteed with lots of garlic, cumin and oregano. On the finish I add a healthy pinch of kosher sea salt. A sprinkle of fresh cilantro adds a nice kick. I serve this with sliced sweet white onions and fresh basil. A nice trick my Persian friend taught me, and I love it, as do my dinner guests, it's very different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I tripled the onions and used cashews instead of pine nuts. I also left out the olive oil because it was unneccesary. The onions cook in the grease from the meat and there is already plenty of oil/fat in the nuts and hummus--so why add more? I thought this tasted very good, but it was very filling. It might be better with chicken instead of beef. I also didn't layer it, I mixed it all together. I didn't see the point in layering it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Wow, delicious! My 4-year-old even asked for seconds. Next time I go to a pot-luck, I'm bringing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I guess no matter how healthy hummus is for you, I cannot make myself like it! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Distinctively different, and will make again. This review based on optional ingredients being included. While we enjoyed eating it as instructed, we liked it even better when briefly heated-up before serving. The amount of pita bread seemed a bit overpowering (a bit to dry) but was fine when served warm. The hummus spread will make or break this recipe. I don’t think this recipe will come out w/ a higher rating that what you assign to your hummus spread if tasted alone as torn pita bread and pine nuts won’t pull-up the rating. I choose “Smokey Chipotle Hummus” from this site, and it was great when coupled w/ this recipe. Had a store bought hummus been used, this probably would have been rated a 2 or 3. Thanks IMANKAY for a versatile recipe that can be changed-up by using different hummus spreads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This is so healthy, fresh and delicious! I have made this numerous times now and my husband loves it. I have made it both with ground beef and ground lamb - both are great. I triple the allspice every time. Depending on what I have, I make it into a sort of salad - just put a torn pita on each plate, top with hummus, then the meat, then either shredded romaine or halved cherry tomatoes (or both), then sliced red onion, then parsley. Salt, pepper, paprika, lemon juice. SO good! The pine nuts are tasty as well, but I feel like you can easily skip them if you don't have them to hand. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This wasn't a make-once-a-week recipe, but the family really like it so I don't complain! It needs vegetables and crackers or something to eat with it. I made it with the ground beef and can't imagine what it would have been like without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Surprisingly good,and I made the recipe with no changes. It's a perfect summer recipe to make when it's too hot to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saratoga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Basil’s Traditional Hummus

Discover a simple family recipe for authentic Syrian hummus.

Hummus III

Use canned garbanzo beans to whip up an easy, tasty hummus at home.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States