Hummingbird Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I drank a lot of these in Negril in 2005 and never thought to search for the recipe… until now. It was blistering hot here today, so I ran out and got the ingredients (found rum cream easily and used Nesquik strawberry syrup) and on my first sip was quickly taken back to the beach, listening to reggae and always having someone nearby to remind me it was “no problem”. My husband agrees. I finally became a member to tell you how good this recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
I've searched and searched for this recipe and was DELIGHTED when I found it here. I was even happier because they taste just like the ones we had on our honeymoon in Negril. Yum--- this is my husbands favorite sweet drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
It was only last week that I was sipping one of these on a beach in Montego Bay. Definitely the real deal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLASTRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
FABULOUS! I used gold rum and half & half in place of the rum cream liqueor and milk. I added a little extra syrup and kahlua. It seems like a strange combination, but ohhhh.... they were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Rum Cream has been very hard to find in the states, but Cruzan just started making their own version of Jamacian Rum Cream. It tastes just like the stuff we all remember from our honeymoons! WAHOOO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyG.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
Exactly like the ones I had in Jamaica during my honeymoon. Ohhh the memories. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This was awesome. Had no problem finding the rum cream liqueur. Just ask at any larger store. Can't wait to try them again, who needs to go to Jamaica if you can make these at home. WOW!!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
My husband and I honeymooned in Jamaica 9 years ago. We fell in love with these, and lost the paper one of the bartenders wrote the recipe on! I was soooo excited to find this. It's exactly the same!!! thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
This is the real deal, a true Jamaican Hummingbird. And believe me, I know. I had asked every bartender down there for the recipe, and this is it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I went to Negril a year ago and I asked the bartender for something sweet but different. He made me this and a Purple Rain. I couldn't find anyone here in the States who knew what a hummingbird was and all I have to say is THANK YOU!!! Now I can make this wonderful drink at home!! The recipe is exact too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Mojitos

Put a blueberry twist on the minty, classic Cuban cocktail.

Cuba Libre Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender whip up this classic rum-based cocktail.

Best Strawberry Daiquiri

This frosty, fruity rum daiquiri boasts a bit of fizzy fun.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States