Hummingbird Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This is it.. like Montego Bay! :) We don't like the coffee flavor as much, so we use amaretto. Sometimes I also use 1 oz strawberry liqueur in place of the strawberry syrup for a little more kick, and a little less strawberry flavor, but that's less authentic. BTW, to those making this with rum.. definitely not the same... We bring lots of rum creme back from jamaica, but Cruzan now distributes a rum creme in the US now, I have a bottle, but haven't run out of Sangster's yet.. :) I'll update when I do..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Just like on vacation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I'm on the fence about this one. This has got to be one of the most interesting cocktails I've ever had. I made no substitutions, I had to use half of a FROZEN banana only because I had no ice. Different. Very different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I could not find any rum cream, so used straight rum. This did not taste at all like the Hummingbird I drank often at Breezes Runaway Bay, and I don't think its because of what I substituted (rum for rum cream). What I did do, since I tasted the coffee liqueur, is I added another ounce of milk, and another ounce of strawberry flavored syrup. THAT tasted more like the drink I had, though it wasn't the same color (mine was brownish instead of pink). So this is a nice recipe, but I had to modify it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
WONDERFUL!!! My sister-in-law and I LOVE these while we are sitting out by the pool!!! Tastes just like a milkshake but with a nice little kick. One sip and we were hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
HAVING BEEN TO JAMAICA 3 TIMES, THIS IS OUR FIRST DRINK REQUEST EVERY TIME. IT IS EXCELLENT!! I PUT ONLY 1/2 OUNCE OF THE COFFEE LIQUER IN, BUT STILL GREAT!! LAST TIME THERE, I BOUGHT THE COCONUT RUM CREAM AND THERE'S HARDLY ANY DIFFERENCE. STILL TERRIFIC! FILLING BUT A GREAT DESSERT DRINK!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I`ve already rated this recipe. I made it with white rum, but now I made it with Rum Cream liqueur. I bought it in Dominican Republic and really fell in love with its taste. The cocktail is extremely good, not strong at all, the ingredients perfectly compliment each other. Using rum, the taste will be a little different, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Exactly like the ones we had in the Bahamas on our honeymoon. One difference, instead of rum cream liquor they just used Bacardi rum, you can use a flavored version for extra fruity taste. We like to add more banana to the mix. Love them, perfect for hot summer days or pool parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.B. Sitzman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Exactly as I remember! Although it seems to be hard to find true Rum Cream, it's well worth the search. This drink is absolutely YUMMY! I have even substituted Banana Liqueur for the little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Mojitos

Put a blueberry twist on the minty, classic Cuban cocktail.

Cuba Libre Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender whip up this classic rum-based cocktail.

Best Strawberry Daiquiri

This frosty, fruity rum daiquiri boasts a bit of fizzy fun.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States