Hummingbird Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
i found this recipe years ago in an old cookbook and everybody just adored it!my daughter even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This is gooood, like granma used to make. Banana bread on steroids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Mango

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
Very very yummy!!! I made it for Christmas and it relatively easy- the only time consuming thing was figuring out how many bananas equalled 2 cups and actually mashing the bananas (use approx. 5 med-large bananas and a potato masher). Otherwise, very easy to make. Reminded me of one of my grand- mother's cakes, but this was better! I'll be passing it along!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Wow what a great cake! I sliced off the very top of one layer to even cake top...and tried the icing. I am sending WHOLE thing to work with dh tomorrow as I know I would eat it ALL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This recipe is great. Try replacing the oil with applesauce for a healthier version. My family prefers the applesauce-version on taste alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindsayBH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raytown, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I also add 1 tsp cinnamon to the cake mix. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I usually bake this in a tube pan and I add a dash of cinnamon to the batter. Pre-made cream cheese frosting works well with this cake. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
WONDERFUL cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This cake is moist and flavorful. The only changes I made were to add 1 cup of coconut, 1 tbsp. rum, and I roasted the bananas in the oven with a slight topping of brown sugar. Roasting the bananas this way enhances the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Made for Kay Lyn's birthday. Turned out great. Used a little pineapple juice in the frosting and sprinkled the sides with coconut and then the top got finely chopped pecans. Looks like it came from the Cheesecake factory and would cost at least $5 dollars a serving. Very impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States