Hummingbird Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Hummingbird cake is new to me. Sounded so good, thought I would give it a try. One of the best we've had in a long while. It's a cousin of carrot cake. Very easy, well writen recipe. Followed the recipe up to the nuts,(Hubby can't eat them) I used coconut. It may be better with nuts or maybe both. I baked for 50 min, watch not to over bake. Very moist and serves at least 12. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This cake is wonderful! We don't care for walnuts so I added pecans and an extra package of cream cheese to the frosting....To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was the best recipe to make for a nice holiday dinner! Everyone loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juggalette706

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eatonton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This cake is fantastic! Have made it many times just as the recipe is shown and it comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Made for Kay Lyn's birthday. Turned out great. Used a little pineapple juice in the frosting and sprinkled the sides with coconut and then the top got finely chopped pecans. Looks like it came from the Cheesecake factory and would cost at least $5 dollars a serving. Very impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I also add 1 tsp cinnamon to the cake mix. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This cake is moist and flavorful. The only changes I made were to add 1 cup of coconut, 1 tbsp. rum, and I roasted the bananas in the oven with a slight topping of brown sugar. Roasting the bananas this way enhances the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Wow what a great cake! I sliced off the very top of one layer to even cake top...and tried the icing. I am sending WHOLE thing to work with dh tomorrow as I know I would eat it ALL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This is gooood, like granma used to make. Banana bread on steroids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Mango

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by 23DAISYS
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I made this using a yellow cake mix and then the fruit and eggs like suggested. Followed the icing recipe as directed. This was requested by a friend for her baby shower and while it isn't my kind of dessert(I'm a chocolate girl!), it was still very good to me and got raves by everyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States