Hummingbird Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
What a rich and beautiful cake. I made a 2 layer cake. There was plenty of icing to ice in between the layers and all around. I put some chopped walnuts , just on the top and it was really pretty. It impressed my dinner guests. Everyone loved it and I can't wait to make it again. I may try it with half splenda next time to save a few calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Excellent without the frosting. Kind of like a banana bread. Make in small bundt pans, add powdered sugar and cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
THIS IS A VERY DESIRABLE CAKE AT ALL OF OUR CHURCH SUPPERS AND HOMECOMINGS. EVERYONE WANTS THE RECIPE. USE VERY RIPE BANANAS IN THE CAKE. RIPE BANANAS ARE SWEETER. YOU CAN ALSO BAKE THE CAKE IN A LOAF PAN FOR HAWAIIAN BANANA BREAD. YOU CAN GLAZE THE LOAF OR NOT,IT'S YOUR CHOICE. VERY DELECTABLE AND G-O-O-D.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Hummingbird cake is new to me. Sounded so good, thought I would give it a try. One of the best we've had in a long while. It's a cousin of carrot cake. Very easy, well writen recipe. Followed the recipe up to the nuts,(Hubby can't eat them) I used coconut. It may be better with nuts or maybe both. I baked for 50 min, watch not to over bake. Very moist and serves at least 12. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This cake is wonderful! We don't care for walnuts so I added pecans and an extra package of cream cheese to the frosting....To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was the best recipe to make for a nice holiday dinner! Everyone loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juggalette706

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eatonton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This cake is fantastic! Have made it many times just as the recipe is shown and it comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Made for Kay Lyn's birthday. Turned out great. Used a little pineapple juice in the frosting and sprinkled the sides with coconut and then the top got finely chopped pecans. Looks like it came from the Cheesecake factory and would cost at least $5 dollars a serving. Very impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I also add 1 tsp cinnamon to the cake mix. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This cake is moist and flavorful. The only changes I made were to add 1 cup of coconut, 1 tbsp. rum, and I roasted the bananas in the oven with a slight topping of brown sugar. Roasting the bananas this way enhances the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States